We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$22
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
199
18
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
199
18
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner one night inle lake trekking tour guest house garden breakfast quietness nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Thitaw Lay deserves its reputation as a lovely guesthouse. It's situated in the hills above Kalaw, about 2km away from the bus stop and a bit closer to the train station. There are a number of day hikes in the area which the guesthouse can advise you on if you're not planning a multi day trek with one of the local companies. Breakfast is delicious and rooms are comfortable with reasonable wifi. If you're too lazy to walk into town for dinner, they will bring you tasty takeaways (cheap and generously portioned). Definitely recommended.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MakiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Clean rooms, hot water, good beds. Best breakfast while in Myanmar. Marc, the owner, bakes a banana bread every morning.

Information on hikes without guide is provided in the room.

We went for one night in our way to Inle and ended up spending 3 nights.

Kalaw ended up being one of the best destinations and a big part of that is this place and the atmosphere Marc has built in it.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Casca76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

We had a great trip at Thitawlay Guest house. We spent three nights and had great breakfast. The yoghurt is delicious and so is the jam that is homemade. If you are a cook be sure to ask him of his recipes for those two. The room is good clean we stayed in deluxe so we don't know about Budget rooms. Otherwise Mr. Mark was always around and was always helpful. The laundry is well priced as it is per bucket.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gurnihal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Excellent discovery - We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was the best although I believe it is for those who stay in the deluxe rooms. Mark also has some standard rooms -not sure what the breakfast is for those guest. He bakes cakes,breads and also serves home-made jams and yogurt. If visiting Kalaw then this is the best place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LarisaNagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Loved this hotel set a little outside of the town. Fantastic breakfast with freshly baked bread, plus they will organise takeaway dinner if you can't be bothered to walk down to town. All the staff are very friendly and will give lots of great suggestions for activities in the region. Plus reasonably priced laundry. We stayed with our kids who also enjoyed themselves, pottering about in the garden and the hotel catered for them really well. Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_Lewis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews