We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing September vacation at Mountainview Bed...”
other traveller has booked this property
View from my backyard - overlooking Cumming Lake and Mountain View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from my backyard - overlooking Cumming Lake and Mountain View
5 bedroom timber frame Living room with stone fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
View from my backyard - overlooking Cumming Lake and Mountain View
5 bedroom timber frame
Living room with stone fireplace
Kitchen area comes complete with all the pots and pans and dishwasher, microwave
Dining room easily sits 10 people
Master bedroom with private ensuite
one of the three bedrooms - queen size bed
family room with a queen and single bed
Large back deck with view of the lake and mountain
Finnish wood burning sauna
canoes, kayaks, paddle and fishing boats available
Scenic drive to Pig Pen Chutes
Aubrey Falls
Kayaking on Cumming Lake
Swimming in the natural jacquazzi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Thessalon, Northeastern Ontario, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angel P
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing September vacation at Mountainview Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Mountainview Bed and Breakfast has been our preferred summer vacation rental for years. This year we were a bit late and took vacation in September. It was amazing, the place was as beautifully kept as always, the lake Cummings water was actually warmer than it is in August. The views were excellent and the weather was perfect.
The Owner Jane Mundy was way out of her way to make the guests feel as comfortable as if they were home. The buildings have WIFI access, There is plenty of comfortable bedrooms for big groups and both buildings on the property are beautifully decorated with art and paintings from well known Native artists.
Jane will cook the guests breakfast on request and she is a very skilled cook.
We highly recommend Mountainview bread and breakfast lodge on Lake Cummings.
Don't forget snorkelling and fishing gear, she provides the boats, canoes or kayaks. Also bring your hiking boots for amazing mountain climbing right accros the laek from teh property on lake Cummings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Sauna and the lake swimming. Beds were so comfortable.
Liked least: It is a bit of a drive from Toronto, BUT worth it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you 2 spelling mistakes in the last sentence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marieroch...
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house is beautiful, with great first nation art, well equipped kitchen, books to read, games to play, and more. Great lake for swimming, beautiful sunsets and campfires in the evening, peace and quiet.
However we found that the bathrooms were not clean enough, that the place needed a thorough dusting and vacuuming, that the bedding needed airing. For this reason, because it reduces the value of the place considering the price we paid, we would not recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner´s welcome, the beauty of the surroundings, the peace and quiet, the lake and amenities.
Liked least: The house was not as clean as we would have liked, considering the price paid.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Sorry you experienced this, if you would have spoken to me about this I would have rectified the problems you mentioned in your review. Unfortunately I was experiencing water problems which needed my immediate attention and left my cleaning crew on their own. Thank you for pointing this out - I ended up firing my staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel P
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing views, Excellent accommodations, friendly owner and great food.”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Mountainview B&B has been our summer vacation spot for many years. We love it up there because it is a beautiful site, the lake is clean and 2 minutes from the main building. The site has canoes, a power boat, kayaks and a raft to swim to and dive from. The lake has fish and fishermen will enjoy summer or winter.
In the summer there are many activities that can be done including hiking, mountain climbing, swimming and snorkelling as well as sight seeing and visiting farmers markets and Mennonite communities for craft items.
In the winter there is snowmobile, ice fishing, cross country ski and snow shoeing.
In both seasons there is hunting of one type of another and a local trading post can sell you the fishing and hunting licenses as required.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and accomodations.
Liked least: a bit far from toronto but very worth it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Thanks for the great review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing