We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Spirits of the Red Sand
from US$94.13
More Info
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
310
59
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
310
59
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aboriginal culture story telling true story cultural experience delicious dinner eye opening first nations re enactment different sets story line skewers bush tucker highly recommend this experience great insight european settlers amazing experience cast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2021

This show starts by educating the audience on some key aspects of Aboriginal culture such as the Dreamtime belief system and their respect for the natural environment, before immersing the visitor into the world of Australia at the time of colonial development (British expansion and settlement). It enables the visitor to understand the cultural conflict that Aboriginal peoples faced as new rules of living and values that were in conflict to their own were thrust upon them. It forces the audience to experience the injustice and harsh treatment towards these original inhabitants by witnessing it before their very own eyes. The story is real, the immersive approach is powerful, and the format of the program is both effective and respectful giving you time to digest and reflect on each part. If you want to understand the history of this nation, you need to see this show. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Date of experience: April 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank rachelD2234AI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiritsredsand, General Manager at Spirits of the Red Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Nunya rachelD2234AI,

Loved reading your review of the experience and getting 5 stars with a highly recommended!! - You are doing so much to help us spread the word and create awareness for Spirits of the Red Sand - and we really appreciate the love!

Please follow our journey on FB and Insta @SpiritsRedSand and remember to #spiritsredsand for your posts/photos and until we meet again - Yuwei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed this show. We were drawn into the story from the very beginning, from the moment we walked through the doors. I especially enjoyed interacting with the actors by walking through the village into different scenes. I would most definitely take visitors to see the show & recommend locals to go along. And the meal at the end just topped off an awesome night & experience. Absolutely loved it. Thank you to the indigenous family for sharing their story xx

Date of experience: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank samuels162021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiritsredsand, General Manager at Spirits of the Red Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Nunya Nunya samuels162021,

Thank you, thank you for the 5 star reviews and thank you for sharing your experience. It is our pleasure to share our story and this recommendation goes a long way to letting others know we are here.

Please follow our journey on FB and Insta @SpiritsRedSand and remember to #spiritsredsand for your posts/photos and until we meet again - Yuwei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2021

This was an excellent and raw experience - a story that needs to be told. The performance was very real and professional and was thoroughly enjoyed by all including the meal at the end

Date of experience: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank MichaelConnolly2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiritsredsand, General Manager at Spirits of the Red Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Yura MichaelConnolly2021,

Nunya Nunya for your 5 star reviews of Spirits of the Red Sand - we all loved reading your review and are so appreciative you took the time to share that it was an excellent experience overall.

Please follow our journey on FB and Insta @SpiritsRedSand and remember to #spiritsredsand for your posts/photos and until we meet again - Yuwei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2021

The historical village was easy to find. Parking was plentiful. At reception, there were complimentary cans of Insect repellent, a nice touch, because we forgot ours. All staff were polite, helpful and friendly. Artwork in the theatre was exceptionally good. The filmed cultural presentation was professional and informative. Live traditional dancing and didgeridoo playing was fun and interesting. We were taken to different locations around the village where the historical story was told by actors. We learned a lot of things that we had never heard before. The meal was absolutely delicious with very generous portions. We found the whole experience both educational and entertaining and very good value for money.

Date of experience: February 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Maynessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiritsredsand, General Manager at Spirits of the Red Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Yura Maynessa,

and Nunya for your 5 star review of Spirits of the Red Sand evening dinner experience. Such a compliment to read that you found it an excellent cultural experience and our team were friendly and helpful and the food was delicious and that overall it was educational and entertaining and value for money. We are deeply grateful to you for sharing your experience.

Until we meet again, please follow our journey on FB and Insta @SpiritsRedSand and remember to #spiritsredsand for your posts/photos. Yuwei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2021

Loved the mixing of our indigenous cultures & learning more about Indigineous Australians cultures. Indigenous Austrlians are always sooo welcoming & are who I consider ‘Earthing People’. They naturally, just by being themselves, make you feel so grounded and humble. Thank you!!
From what I could tell, Waitangi day was a great success and will definitely be back next year

Date of experience: February 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mahaucreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiritsredsand, General Manager at Spirits of the Red Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Nunya mahaucreations,

Thank you for your 5 star review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with everyone, that is the greatest compliment of all.

Please follow our journey on FB and Insta @spiritsredsand and remember to #spiritsredsand for any posts/photos. Until we see you again - Yuwei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews