We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Spirits of the Red Sand
from US$94.30
More Info
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
310
59
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
310
59
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aboriginal culture story telling true story cultural experience delicious dinner eye opening first nations re enactment different sets story line skewers bush tucker highly recommend this experience great insight european settlers amazing experience cast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2020

This was a great interactive show showing the history of Aboriginal people. We had an amazing 3 course dinner afterwards with native food. Great dancing, digeriidoo playing and reptile display too!

Date of experience: December 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 845sallyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiritsredsand, General Manager at Spirits of the Red Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Nunya 845sallyc,

Thank you for the 5 star review and for sharing your thoughts on your experience at Spirits of the Red Sand. We really appreciate it. Please follow our journey on FB or insta @spiritsredsand and #spiritsredsand for any posts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

This was one of the best experiences I’ve had on my Gold Coast holiday this week. The storyline was very confronting but needs to be told and we all need to learn.
Sadly, due to torrential rain, we missed some of the tour and storyline’s as we couldn’t hear over the loud rain and not all the cast had microphones. (This would be great if they could get a grant or donation of quality microphones to really enhance their story so we heard it all) This wasn’t a fault of theirs, only Mother Nature taking over... however they still performed in the rain which was great.
Now the food.... OMG! So so delicious and plenty of it and thankfully I could take a doggy bag home as I couldn’t eat it all.
Overall and amazing experience. I would have loved to have seen around the village so I will come again next year and hopefully no rain

Date of experience: December 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank kylier919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiritsredsand, General Manager at Spirits of the Red Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Nunyakylier919, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of Spirits of the Red Sand and for giving us a 5 star review and mentioning it was one of the best experiences you had on your Gold Coast holiday. We 100% agree on the sound and we're hoping to get an upgraded sound system soon to help amplify our voices a bit more - even over the rain, and again, we appreciate the feedback as we are always striving to be better. Please follow our journey by on FB or Insta @spiritsredsand and #spiritsredsand for any photos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2020

Touching show and well dramatised ... could do with the actors voices being a bit louder
Great dinner afterwards

Date of experience: November 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank miketurnock62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiritsredsand, General Manager at Spirits of the Red Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Yura miketurnock62,

Nunya for the 5 star reviews and for taking the time to share your experience of Spirits of the Red Sand. We 100% agree on the sound and we're hoping to get an upgraded sound system soon to help amplify our voices a bit more - and again, we appreciate the feedback as we are always striving to be better. Please follow our journey by on FB or Insta @spiritsredsand and #spiritsredsand for any photos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020

A great value for money experience for individuals, couples, family groups or Office events. Appropriate COVID processes were in place without degrading the experience. Muzza's opening about Australian reptiles and their place in indigenous culture engaged young and old, with no obvious reluctance by audience members to bond with the main actor for this segment - the Coastal Python.

Then the experience began, with 7 of the performers direct descendants of the prime characters of the story it was engaging, moving and educational.

The guests walked between scenes where the story was told and indigenous customs shared. Whilst there were moments when the carefully placed microphones did not effectively amplify the performers the absolute silence from the audience ensured that this did not mar the performance.

Then there was the food --- Wow! Three course meal is a way inadequate description. Opening with tasters of crocodile, kangaroo and emu with fresh pineapple and individual damper and bush tucker dukka

Then there was the main! Absolutely beautiful tender chicken fillet and camp oven beef all displaying bush tucker spices; beetroot fetta and baby leaf spinach salads, and coleslaw that would be at home in a 5 star restaurant; substantial corn on cob; a massive boat of gravy; the obligatory spud in foil and more vegetables. Ample portions of excellent quality.

The meal winds up with a desert plate of an exceptional individual pavlova with lemon myrtle cream, strawberries and a taste of passionfruit coupled AND an award worthy fruit compote.

The wet bar opened when the meal as served and drink prices were competitive. The staff were all attentive and the performers mingled (such that they could of course) with the guests.

The meal left no doubt that this is an exceptional and professional experience. We thoroughly recommend the experience!!!

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank JimB_from_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiritsredsand, General Manager at Spirits of the Red Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Yura JimB_from_AUS,

Your review of our evening dinner Aboriginal experience is spot on and we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your thoughts and give us a 5 star recommendation. Nunya Nunya and until we see you again - Yuwei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

What a great night! the show was very informative and entertaining, I especially loved the singing and dancing and learning more about the aboriginal culture. The meal was amazing, I would definitely recommend. Thank you

Thank 901carliem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiritsredsand, Director of Sales at Spirits of the Red Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2020

Nunya Carlie for taking the time to let everyone know about your 5 star experience at Red Sands. We're so passionate about sharing our culture, so to read that you thought we were informative and entertaining, and the meal was amazing, makes us so proud. Please continue to follow our journey on FB @spiritsredsand and until we meet again - Yuwei from all of us here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews