We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Snaptravel
FindHotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
53
3
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
53
3
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews omaha beach one night comfortable bed set us up for the day lovely touch wonderful hosts made us feel stunning location robin gianni nibbles lodge sunroom wine views accommodation privacy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We stayed for 1 night in Feb ’18, on our way up to Paihia, to break up the journey.

The view over the countryside is stunning & breakfast was excellent. Our hosts Dianne & Robin are very friendly, did our washing for us & advised us where to eat & even made a booking for us. It was a great choice. We had a really nice, relaxed stay & if time allowed, would have happily stayed longer.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL-Edgware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

You won't be disappointed staying in this wonderful house with Robin and Dianne as your hosts. From arrival to drinks and canapés being presented on your balcony at your chosen time , and a wonderful choice at breakfast . The stunning views from your bedroom across to Omaha beach and the surrounding countryside is beautiful . Robin and Dianne are wonderful hosts and made wonderful recommendations for dinner and where to go and see . Enjoy.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We only stopped for one night and wished we had been staying longer. A lovely, comfortable and beautifully furnished room with fantastic views to the coast over open countryside. Sitting drinking pre supper rosé looking at the view was stunning. Robin and Dianne are charming, warm and friendly hosts and made us feel extremely welcome with lots of advice on where to go and where to eat. A delightful stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CopsemG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you so much & thank you for visiting us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

A gorgeous view to sit and watch the sun set or rise. Very peaceful with a lovely view. Very modern room and bathroom separate to the main house where a basic continental breakfast was served. The owners are very friendly and eager to suggest places to visit in the area. We only stayed one night but I suggest two so you can get down to Omaha beach and the lovely walks you can do.
To eat out you have to get in your car as the lodge is a way out of town but there are plenty of options as Matakana is the trendiest part of NZ we have visited in our first week, albeit still quiet.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you so much for feedback Julie. With fresh OJ, homemade muesli, choice of yogurts, fresh fruit salad of seasonal fruits, selection of breads, selection of teas or fresh coffee, homemade marmalade, jams and local honey from Mt;Tamahunga, plus hot-baked pastries, we try and make the Continental breakfast as substantial as possible, but would really appreciate it if you could send us an email, outlining how we can best improve it to make it less "basic" ? Our aim is always to surpass all our visitors expectations, so your suggestions would be very genuinely appreciated.
Yes, it is a shame you need to hop in the car for the restaurants/eateries, but, as you say at least there are plenty of options .... 8 within 3kms. Look forward to hearing from you. Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely clean and spacious room. Greeted warmly and asked if we would like some wine and nibbles before dinner (we did!). Extensive advice on things to do locally and very kindly dropped us off for dinner at the local micro brewery. Outstanding views from the room, on the terrace and from the breakfast room. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LangtonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews