We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
53
3
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
53
3
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews omaha beach one night comfortable bed set us up for the day lovely touch wonderful hosts made us feel stunning location robin gianni nibbles lodge sunroom wine views accommodation privacy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018

A gorgeous view to sit and watch the sun set or rise. Very peaceful with a lovely view. Very modern room and bathroom separate to the main house where a basic continental breakfast was served. The owners are very friendly and eager to suggest places to visit in the area. We only stayed one night but I suggest two so you can get down to Omaha beach and the lovely walks you can do.
To eat out you have to get in your car as the lodge is a way out of town but there are plenty of options as Matakana is the trendiest part of NZ we have visited in our first week, albeit still quiet.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you so much for feedback Julie. With fresh OJ, homemade muesli, choice of yogurts, fresh fruit salad of seasonal fruits, selection of breads, selection of teas or fresh coffee, homemade marmalade, jams and local honey from Mt;Tamahunga, plus hot-baked pastries, we try and make the Continental breakfast as substantial as possible, but would really appreciate it if you could send us an email, outlining how we can best improve it to make it less "basic" ? Our aim is always to surpass all our visitors expectations, so your suggestions would be very genuinely appreciated.
Yes, it is a shame you need to hop in the car for the restaurants/eateries, but, as you say at least there are plenty of options .... 8 within 3kms. Look forward to hearing from you. Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely clean and spacious room. Greeted warmly and asked if we would like some wine and nibbles before dinner (we did!). Extensive advice on things to do locally and very kindly dropped us off for dinner at the local micro brewery. Outstanding views from the room, on the terrace and from the breakfast room. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LangtonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We had a great couple of days at this lovely property. It started with a warm welcome from Robin who was outside to greet us when we arrived. The room was excellent and included all we might have needed for our stay. Breakfast was great with superb views over the surrounding countryside to Omaha Beach and beyond. Robin and Dianne were very helpful in suggesting places to go and where to eat. Tawharanui Regional Park is definitely recommended - great walks, wonderful scenery. The early evening wine and nibbles were a bonus. Would have loved to stay longer to enjoy the hospitality and see more of the area.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The facility is a great place to spend a few days when you first come to NZ. It is only an hour from Auckland. We had heavy rain for 2 of the three days we were there and had a great time seeing the sites and conversing with Diane and Robin. The wine and hor d'ouerves every night (at 5 o'clock- Just like the Alan Jackson song!) are a great way to wind up a day outdoors. It is a great place to see the sites like Goat Island

Room tip: There are only 3 rooms so not a big deal!
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve46772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

This small B & B has everything that a couple could want for a short break. The comfortable elegance of the rooms ( we had the Coast Room) to the splendid light breakfast and the superb view from the room in the morning over towards the Great Barrier Island all combined to make this an unforgettable experience. The best bit of it all however was the friendliness of Dianne and Robin who ran the Lodge with an attention to detail which was second to none for us. From the welcome when we arrived to the farewell when we left, we could not have asked for more.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AberdeenMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews