We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LangtonJohn
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom

Great hospitality with outstanding views

Review of Sugarloaf Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jan 2018via mobile
Lovely clean and spacious room. Greeted warmly and asked if we would like some wine and nibbles before dinner (we did!). Extensive advice on things to do locally and very kindly dropped us off for dinner at the local micro brewery. Outstanding views from the room, on the terrace and from the breakfast room. Highly recommended.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sugarloaflodge, Owner at Sugarloaf Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 18 Feb 2018
Thank you John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$198
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Vio.com
    $215
  • eDreams
2.0 km from Sugarloaf Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$575
    0.9 km from Sugarloaf Lodge
    three bedroom hall
    StayForLong
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    4.7 km from Sugarloaf Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $155
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $155
    • Agoda.com
      $141
    • Expedia.com
      $156
    9.0 km from Sugarloaf Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $135
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $135
    • Agoda.com
      $93
    • Expedia.com
      $135
    9.1 km from Sugarloaf Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $133
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      $118
    • Expedia.com
      $130
    9.0 km from Sugarloaf Lodge
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    swimming pool
    Booking.com
    $180
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $180
    • Vio.com
      $180
    • eDreams
      $180
    9.2 km from Sugarloaf Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Quad Studio Bedroom
    Booking.com
    $162
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $162
    • Hotels.com
      $165
    • Expedia.com
      $168
    9.5 km from Sugarloaf Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Queen bed room
    Booking.com
    $165
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      $165
    • Vio.com
      $165
    • eDreams
      $165
    9.8 km from Sugarloaf Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $633
    • Priceline
      $633
    • eDreams
      $633
    • Vio.com
      $633
    10.2 km from Sugarloaf Lodge
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Matakana
    Reviews (59)
    Filter reviews
    59 results
    Traveller rating
    54
    3
    0
    2
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    54
    3
    0
    2
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    16 - 21 of 59 reviews
    Reviewed 11 December 2017

    We had a great couple of days at this lovely property. It started with a warm welcome from Robin who was outside to greet us when we arrived. The room was excellent and included all we might have needed for our stay. Breakfast was great with superb views over the surrounding countryside to Omaha Beach and beyond. Robin and Dianne were very helpful in suggesting places to go and where to eat. Tawharanui Regional Park is definitely recommended - great walks, wonderful scenery. The early evening wine and nibbles were a bonus. Would have loved to stay longer to enjoy the hospitality and see more of the area.

    Date of stay: October 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
    Thank Stephen B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 April 2017

    The facility is a great place to spend a few days when you first come to NZ. It is only an hour from Auckland. We had heavy rain for 2 of the three days we were there and had a great time seeing the sites and conversing with Diane and Robin. The wine and hor d'ouerves every night (at 5 o'clock- Just like the Alan Jackson song!) are a great way to wind up a day outdoors. It is a great place to see the sites like Goat Island

    Room tip: There are only 3 rooms so not a big deal!
    Date of stay: March 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Steve46772
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

    This small B & B has everything that a couple could want for a short break. The comfortable elegance of the rooms ( we had the Coast Room) to the splendid light breakfast and the superb view from the room in the morning over towards the Great Barrier Island all combined to make this an unforgettable experience. The best bit of it all however was the friendliness of Dianne and Robin who ran the Lodge with an attention to detail which was second to none for us. From the welcome when we arrived to the farewell when we left, we could not have asked for more.

    Date of stay: January 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank AberdeenMusicman
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 January 2017

    We stayed here as one of our many hotels/bed and breakfasts on our trip to new zealand. What a hidden gem. It was absolutely stunning and had so many special extras- heated floors and towel warmer, rain shower head, etc. The host was very accommodating as well, providing us with snacks and breakfast, as well as local recommendations. Very pleased!

    Date of stay: November 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank OregonJenB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 March 2016

    We stayed here for one night, on our way to Paihia. When we had been there for a short while we wondered why why our agent didn't book is at least four days. There is a lot to do in the area and we wished we had the opportunity to explore. We were very fortunate to have stayed at this lodge. Much thought has been given to the guest accommodation. It is beautifully appointed, even down to the crockery and glassware available in the room. Breakfast was delicious. You will not be pestered by Robin and Diane, but you will be looked after discreetly, and hope to return one day.

    Date of stay: March 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank oxfordowl2016
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews