We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
54
3
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
54
3
0
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We stayed here for one night, on our way to Paihia. When we had been there for a short while we wondered why why our agent didn't book is at least four days. There is a lot to do in the area and we wished we had the opportunity to explore. We were very fortunate to have stayed at this lodge. Much thought has been given to the guest accommodation. It is beautifully appointed, even down to the crockery and glassware available in the room. Breakfast was delicious. You will not be pestered by Robin and Diane, but you will be looked after discreetly, and hope to return one day.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank oxfordowl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We only stayed here one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. Our hosts, Robin and Dianne couldn't have been nicer. Wonderful location, beautiful views, an excellent room and a lovely breakfast!

We highly recommend this B&B to anyone requiring a top class service.

Room tip: Each of the rooms we saw were of a very high standard.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Sugarloaf's hilltop location provides stunning views. The rooms are generous and beautifully appointed. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming and provided a great breakfast! - everything you could wish for from a "boutique" B&B !

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Delightful hosts, generous and elegant rooms, generous welcome-refreshment, stunning view from hilltop over vineyards, meadows and sea-skyline.
A very nice place to stay longer to enjoy the garden, the skyline of vineyards,
the near beaches, the village of Matakana and surrounding area with its lovely shops and restaurants.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karl217
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2015

During our two night stay in Diane and Robin's marvellous hilltop lodge, we felt we had found a gem from which to explore the beautiful area of Matakana. Our chic cottage suite was beautifully decorated and comfortably appointed, with many thoughtful touches. These new owners have refurbished their lodge with an attention to detail that was impressive. The landscaping on the approach up the drive and around the lodge is beautiful. The view was simply stunning over the fields and vineyards, pockets of forest, and out to the ocean beyond. Diane brought a beautiful tray of pre-dinner treats and wine to our private deck overlooking the countryside, and Robin prepared wonderful breakfasts to our order. Their warmth complemented the beautiful countryside retreat they have created. A highly recommended stay.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank elizabethj381
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews