We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
54
3
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
54
3
0
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We only stayed here one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. Our hosts, Robin and Dianne couldn't have been nicer. Wonderful location, beautiful views, an excellent room and a lovely breakfast!

We highly recommend this B&B to anyone requiring a top class service.

Room tip: Each of the rooms we saw were of a very high standard.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Sugarloaf's hilltop location provides stunning views. The rooms are generous and beautifully appointed. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming and provided a great breakfast! - everything you could wish for from a "boutique" B&B !

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Delightful hosts, generous and elegant rooms, generous welcome-refreshment, stunning view from hilltop over vineyards, meadows and sea-skyline.
A very nice place to stay longer to enjoy the garden, the skyline of vineyards,
the near beaches, the village of Matakana and surrounding area with its lovely shops and restaurants.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karl217
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 December 2015

During our two night stay in Diane and Robin's marvellous hilltop lodge, we felt we had found a gem from which to explore the beautiful area of Matakana. Our chic cottage suite was beautifully decorated and comfortably appointed, with many thoughtful touches. These new owners have refurbished their lodge with an attention to detail that was impressive. The landscaping on the approach up the drive and around the lodge is beautiful. The view was simply stunning over the fields and vineyards, pockets of forest, and out to the ocean beyond. Diane brought a beautiful tray of pre-dinner treats and wine to our private deck overlooking the countryside, and Robin prepared wonderful breakfasts to our order. Their warmth complemented the beautiful countryside retreat they have created. A highly recommended stay.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank elizabethj381
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently spent two nights at Sugerloaf Lodge - we came away feeling relaxed, recharged and ready to face city life again. Our room was immaculate and very well appointed, the bed extremely comfortable and the views stunning and tranquil. The breakfast was delicious - we loved the home-made marmalade! Our hosts, Alan and Vanessa were extremely informative and gracious. We can thoroughly recommend this wonderful B & B.
Kate & Ian

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews