We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
101
5
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
5
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower suitewriting roombiscuitsguest loungeglass of winestunning viewsbreakfast was deliciouslovely hostseach morningopen firehomemade muesliamazing propertyhosts johncheese plattertwo nightson arrivalfabulous stay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We booked a 1 night stay as a surprise for my husband's 50th birthday. What a treat! As you approach the Castle down the sweeping driveway you get a glimpse as to why this accommodation is so special. With the spectacular sea view in the distance this property really has the 'wow' factor.
Our stay was very relaxing and we enjoyed the wine and nibbles on arrival whilst taking in the view. We stayed in one of the garden rooms which was really comfortable and spotlessly clean and enjoyed sitting in the guest lounge area in the evening with a glass of wine. Breakfast was scrumptious, especially the home made muesli.
The hospitality, setting and amazing view made for a memorable birthday celebration.
Would highly recommend to anybody who enjoys peace, quiet, good company and a luxury getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DobsonfamilyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you for your kind words, it was great to meet you both and hopefully we will see you again some time. John and Nat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Stayed for 2 nights in the Tower Room and the first oddity was there was no lock on the door. Next oddity was there was no TV not even in the lounge and no newspapers either. Internet was intermitent not really satisfactory given the tarrif. At breakfast there was no choice and no extras like toast or pastries to eat if you didn't like what was presented. I don't like sweet food and the blueberry french toast was way too sweet for my liking but as I said there was no choice, Then the oddist part of the stay was the 2nd evening when we were sitting in the lounge and the new guests were served wine and nibbles, we were ignored. Be warned; wine and nibbles are just for the first night so you get to sit there with newly arrived guests and get nothing despite paying the same for the 2nd night as you did for the first. Yes, the view was pleasant (not exceptional) and the room was nice but not to the point where you wanted to stay in of an evening. Last disappointment was that the towels were not changed (and you only got one each, no spares) and the sheets were turned around rather than changed to hide a coffee stain. Given the amount paid per night this was really not good enough. Disappointed.!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else for the money
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJM223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay at Matakana Castle, and would like to take the opportunity to address your concerns.
You are correct that we are a TV-free zone, this is a conscious decision to enhance the peaceful and restful atmosphere we offer for our guests seeking a relaxing retreat. I understand from your TripAdvisor profile, that you too are a 'peace & quiet' seeker. We do not provide daily papers, but do offer an extensive range of magazines and books for our guests to read. Our internet can be a little temperamental at times, but we are in rural New Zealand, and this is beyond our control. Internet access is completely complimentary for our guests, and is not charged for in the tariff.
Our breakfasts all commence with a generous fruit salad, greek yoghurt, dried fruits, homemade muesli, cereal, fresh juices, tea & coffee. Should you not have been happy with the hot course that day, we would happily have provided an alternative, had you brought it to our attention. We trust the bacon & eggs served on your second morning were to your liking.
Our website, and all booking confirmations clearly show the complimentary wine and nibbles platter is served on the first night of your stay only. It is, as described, complimentary, and was not charged for in the tariff of either nights stay.
Beyond that first night option, sitting in the lounge socialising with other guests, is purely a personal choice. It is a situation our other guests have never had an issue with, apparently enjoying the atmosphere without awaiting the free wine & nibbles.
We are sorry you found the room and view a disappointment, however both are the same as the extensive photographs on the website.
We do not change our towels daily, unless requested. We are, like most rural New Zealand property owners, on tank water and subject to droughts in the height of summer. As such we try not to be wasteful with our water resources. Fresh towels are always available in request.
Finally we would have loved to have been given the opportunity to address your concerns personally, had you brought any of them to our attention during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We stayed at Matakana Castle the evening of my sister's wedding which was at 5pm at Plume Winery. We arrived at around 2:30pm and had the use of the guest lounge, which has the most amazing view out to the coast, for pre wedding drinks. Natalie was very welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble.
The garden room we had was beautiful, lovely linen and spotlessly clean. But the Tower room my sister and her now husband had, was amazing, with glorious views and a private balcony!
We missed the complementary platter that is served to guest at 5pm as we had a wedding to go to, but if the breakfast we had the following morning was anything to go by, we missed out!
Breakfast was really good and Natalie makes the best homemade muesli ever!
Thank you Natalie and John.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank D-LJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Thank you so much it was great to meet you all, enjoy the muesli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Matakana Castle is truly something special. We stayed in the Tower Room for our wedding and it was unbelievable. The place has an amazing vibe, stunning views, and Natalie and John are just wonderful - thank you so much!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annastrand2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

It was a pleasure and a privilege for you to be here before and after your wedding, we truly enjoyed meeting you, your family and friends. Have a wonderful life together and you never know we might see you for your anniversary celebrations. John and Nat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

From the moment you enter the driveway in you know you are in for a treat in relaxation. Entering the front doors to see straight out massive windows to a jaw-dropping view was a moment I will never forget. Peaceful and tranquil are words best to describe Matakana castle. This is a must-see place to unwind with your significant other. In short driving distance to wineries, art exhibitions (including Morris and James pottery) the township (with market, cinema, restaurants) makes Matakana Castle a perfect place to stay if you want to relax or explore!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesrI2623EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at Matakana Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Wow what a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will see you again some time. John and Nat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews