We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb accommodation !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Matakana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Matakana
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation !”
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We decided to stay in the Matakana region over a long weekend and chose Riverside. What a great choice that turned out to be !
The complex itself is only a few minutes drive from Matakana Village and short drive form a wide choice of beaches. Well designed units are clustered in a few groupings, which are set amongst manicured grounds and a small vineyard.
Cleaver plantings ensures privacy.
The units are essentially small holiday homes, the one we were in had two bathrooms and was well appointed. One of the bathrooms contained a washing machine and dryer. A small kitchen would allow self catering, and has all the basic kitchen utensils that you would need, complete with a small refrigerator, microwave, cooking top, and a dish washer it's well set up. Complete with sky ( the NZ version of cable ), stable free wifi , and daily servicing it's a great holiday spot.
A spacious living area would suit a small family staying as the unit itself had 2 double beds and a sleep-out in converted garage alongside could sleep another two in single beds . The units were very clean and clearly well maintained. Large sliding doors and large windows allows maximum sunlight ( and breeze if required ). A deck outside alongside the grape vines is a nice outdoor area. Contained in the Riverside complex is a swimming pool / tennis court and boat ramp.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsuyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    29
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
62
1
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We have visited this complex three times since we found it on our biannual pilgrimage to NZ. What a beautiful location. The Bach is well thought through providing all you need to cook, sleep and relax. I can't rate it high enough.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Slowworms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 6. 2 boys and 2 girls aged 10 - 17. We were joined by another family with 1 boy. It is a perfect set up as you have 2 houses next to each other. The house itself is 2 bedrooms, with a sleep out adjoining the main house.
It is fully serviced, so it's great coming back to your beds made, dishwasher put on and a clean place!
There is a swimming pool here and a tennis court. They supply you with swimming towels. So that is one less thing you need to pack. They also empty your rubbish and recycle bins daily.
There is a washing machine and dryer, and even a clothes horse, which I placed under the pagoda in between the main house and sleep out, clothes dried very well.
Matakana village is a 3 min drive down the road, which is very handy.
It works perfect for us, but my brother was staying with friends at another house here, he has a 1 year old, and they were staying in the sleep out. He found it quite awkward to go to the toilet at night as you have to walk in the bedrooms in the main house to access the toilets.
There is also wifi which is a must with kids these days!
This is our second time here, and will certainly be coming back again. Absolutely love this place.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HelenGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We booked here for a 3 day break and couldn't have been more delighted. Lovely and quiet with amazing views and we've never stayed somewhere that was so well equipped. Great BBQ on the deck with every cooking utensil needed. Nice and close to town and close to some really great wineries. We'll be back!!

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We have stayed as a couple, and with family on a number of occasions and my expectations are always exceeded at Riverside ( and I am fussy!). The self contained apartments are set in beautiful and well maintained grounds on a hill side running down to the river, so many have water views. The apartments are set in clusters but screened from each other with clever planting. All have decks and outdoor furniture, separate sleep out ideal for another couple or older children, laundry and kitchen facilities and 2 sleeping areas in the main room, separated by sliding partitions, all have two full bathrooms. The decor is modern and crisp, wifi is free and unlimited ( many brownie points for this) and the apartment is thoughtfully provided with torches, robes, extra blankets and pillows etc, plus modern Weber BBQs. The beds were very comfortable and linen fresh and clean. A nice touch is daily servicing. The staff are extremely helpful and understand customer service to a tee.
Outdoor facilities include jetty, large swimming pool, and tennis court. The surrounding area is lovely to walk in. It is close to Matakana ( 5 min drive) but a car would be preferable. Activities nearby are numerous, whether requiring an active or leisurely holiday.

Well done Riverside, we look forward to an early return

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matakana
5.2 km away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
71 reviews
4.0 km away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
142 reviews
3.5 km away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
85 reviews
3.7 km away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
169 reviews
10.1 km away
The Cottages Matakana
The Cottages Matakana
#4 of 7 in Matakana
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Matakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Matakana

Property: Riverside Matakana
Address: 170 Green Road, Matakana 0985, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Matakana)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Matakana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Matakana
Price range (per night): $209 - $323
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Matakana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2015 Tripadvisor Excellence Award. Just one hour from Auckland and located 5 mins from Matakana Village. 17 luxury Kiwi baches set on 30 acres of vineyard, olive groves and landscaped grounds, this is a beautiful property in the heart of Matakana wine country on the doorstep to one of NZ's stunning coasts. Facilities are many and include, swimming pool, tennis and petanque courts, private boat ramp & jetty, with an abundance of park like grounds to enjoy. Or simply enjoy the expansive views from the North-West facing decks. Baches are based on the "iconic kiwi bach,"each with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, spacious living areas, BBQ and full kitchen with everything provided. Riverside Matakana is a place where you can truly get away from it all, whether for a a romantic escape, corporate retreat, family holiday, or to explore the many activities and attractions of the Matakana region. The newly renovated and expanded Conference Lodge is now a fully featured, brilliant space, suitable for executive teams, strategy meetings, sales conferences, or as a venue for any event or special occasion. The Lodge has all the latest technology installed, complete with sheltered courtyard, breakout spaces, onsite catering provided by our caterer, with massive decks with views across the property and Matakana Valley. Riverside Matakana is the perfect place to relax, restore and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Matakana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Matakana Hotel Matakana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing