We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside Matakana
Nearby Hotels
The Cottages Matakana(Matakana)(Great Value!)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Lodge(Matakana)
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matakana Motel(Matakana)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plume Villas(Matakana)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
164
32
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
32
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergas firegrape vinestennis courtsconference roomconference venueliving areaminute drivemain bedroomboat rampswimming poolroom layoutwashing machine and dryerfully equipped kitchencomfortable bedssaturday morningolder children
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We have visited this complex three times since we found it on our biannual pilgrimage to NZ. What a beautiful location. The Bach is well thought through providing all you need to cook, sleep and relax. I can't rate it high enough.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Slowworms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We are a family of 6. 2 boys and 2 girls aged 10 - 17. We were joined by another family with 1 boy. It is a perfect set up as you have 2 houses next to each other. The house itself is 2 bedrooms, with a sleep out adjoining the main house.
It is fully serviced, so it's great coming back to your beds made, dishwasher put on and a clean place!
There is a swimming pool here and a tennis court. They supply you with swimming towels. So that is one less thing you need to pack. They also empty your rubbish and recycle bins daily.
There is a washing machine and dryer, and even a clothes horse, which I placed under the pagoda in between the main house and sleep out, clothes dried very well.
Matakana village is a 3 min drive down the road, which is very handy.
It works perfect for us, but my brother was staying with friends at another house here, he has a 1 year old, and they were staying in the sleep out. He found it quite awkward to go to the toilet at night as you have to walk in the bedrooms in the main house to access the toilets.
There is also wifi which is a must with kids these days!
This is our second time here, and will certainly be coming back again. Absolutely love this place.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank HelenGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We booked here for a 3 day break and couldn't have been more delighted. Lovely and quiet with amazing views and we've never stayed somewhere that was so well equipped. Great BBQ on the deck with every cooking utensil needed. Nice and close to town and close to some really great wineries. We'll be back!!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We have stayed as a couple, and with family on a number of occasions and my expectations are always exceeded at Riverside ( and I am fussy!). The self contained apartments are set in beautiful and well maintained grounds on a hill side running down to the river, so many have water views. The apartments are set in clusters but screened from each other with clever planting. All have decks and outdoor furniture, separate sleep out ideal for another couple or older children, laundry and kitchen facilities and 2 sleeping areas in the main room, separated by sliding partitions, all have two full bathrooms. The decor is modern and crisp, wifi is free and unlimited ( many brownie points for this) and the apartment is thoughtfully provided with torches, robes, extra blankets and pillows etc, plus modern Weber BBQs. The beds were very comfortable and linen fresh and clean. A nice touch is daily servicing. The staff are extremely helpful and understand customer service to a tee.
Outdoor facilities include jetty, large swimming pool, and tennis court. The surrounding area is lovely to walk in. It is close to Matakana ( 5 min drive) but a car would be preferable. Activities nearby are numerous, whether requiring an active or leisurely holiday.

Well done Riverside, we look forward to an early return

Room Tip: all are good
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We spent a glorious few days in this wonderful resort. The bach and the facilities were immaculate and the staff extremely helpful friendly. We used their complimentary kayaks and tennis rackets and of course had a dip in the pool. The resort offered free wifi (strong signal) and each bach offered residents utmost privacy. The location was perfect, only a few minutes drive from Matakana. Thanks to Michael for the advice of where to visit in the region!!!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Caragh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews