We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside Matakana
Nearby Hotels
Matakana Motel(Matakana)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Cottages Matakana(Matakana)(Great Value!)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugarloaf Lodge(Matakana)
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warkworth Lodge(Warkworth)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snells Beach Motel(Snells Beach)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Court Motel(Wellsford)(Great Value!)
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waves Motel(Orewa)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
164
32
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
32
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergas firegrape vinestennis courtsconference roomconference venueliving areaminute drivemain bedroomboat rampswimming poolroom layoutwashing machine and dryerfully equipped kitchencomfortable bedssaturday morningolder children
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We booked here for a 3 day break and couldn't have been more delighted. Lovely and quiet with amazing views and we've never stayed somewhere that was so well equipped. Great BBQ on the deck with every cooking utensil needed. Nice and close to town and close to some really great wineries. We'll be back!!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We have stayed as a couple, and with family on a number of occasions and my expectations are always exceeded at Riverside ( and I am fussy!). The self contained apartments are set in beautiful and well maintained grounds on a hill side running down to the river, so many have water views. The apartments are set in clusters but screened from each other with clever planting. All have decks and outdoor furniture, separate sleep out ideal for another couple or older children, laundry and kitchen facilities and 2 sleeping areas in the main room, separated by sliding partitions, all have two full bathrooms. The decor is modern and crisp, wifi is free and unlimited ( many brownie points for this) and the apartment is thoughtfully provided with torches, robes, extra blankets and pillows etc, plus modern Weber BBQs. The beds were very comfortable and linen fresh and clean. A nice touch is daily servicing. The staff are extremely helpful and understand customer service to a tee.
Outdoor facilities include jetty, large swimming pool, and tennis court. The surrounding area is lovely to walk in. It is close to Matakana ( 5 min drive) but a car would be preferable. Activities nearby are numerous, whether requiring an active or leisurely holiday.

Well done Riverside, we look forward to an early return

Room Tip: all are good
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We spent a glorious few days in this wonderful resort. The bach and the facilities were immaculate and the staff extremely helpful friendly. We used their complimentary kayaks and tennis rackets and of course had a dip in the pool. The resort offered free wifi (strong signal) and each bach offered residents utmost privacy. The location was perfect, only a few minutes drive from Matakana. Thanks to Michael for the advice of where to visit in the region!!!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Caragh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

For some reason we rather thought Riverside was a fairly small operation overlooking the river. It's not. It's big, with a lot of baches, not exactly intimate. The river is an estuary and not really visible. The baches are of a fairly cheap modular construction. For the price, I was a little underwhelmed.
That said, it was reasonably roomy and an OK set up. The orientation of the baches was funny with the bedroom having the outlook and the living area the hilside.
We cooked both nights and the kitchen was adequate.
The view of the vines and surrounding hills from the deck was nice.
If you have the right expectations you won't be disappointed. Not quite our cup of tea but one needs to be fair.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank TukoPomojaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Recently booked 5 Bach's for a family wedding. The Bach's were spotlessly clean which is always a must on holiday. The Bach for us, 4 cousins was roomy comfortable and thoughtful. With a family size weber and picnic wine glasses for our outdoor use. Arriving at night the temperature was cool and the option of the fireplace was convenient and provided the warmth we were seeking. Other places we found warmth was through the staff. Reception, housekeeping, maintenance were all extremely friendly and helpful. The location is picture post card perfect.

There is a lovely small town a few minutes drive from Riverside Matakana. Choice of cafes, village movie theatre, country butchery and bakeries. The air is clean and fresh with the beach a walk away.

The facilities at Riverside Matakana are suited to children and adults with a tennis court, kayaks and the pool being heated too. I cannot wait to visit Riverside Matakana again soon. I would not hesitate to recommend this stunning relaxing and beautiful countryside of Riverside Matakana. Thank you Michael and team for the wonderful hospitality.

Regards,
S. Cecil

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Cecil274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews