We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Great Getaway From It all”
other travellers have booked this property
Front Door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Door
Back Door Sitting Room leading to garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Front Door
Back Door
Sitting Room leading to garden.
Kitchen
One of three bedrooms
On of three bedrooms
View from top field
Lambing time
In nearby barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Launceston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CarolEWis...
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Great Getaway From It all”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely old farmhouse- querky- window seats everywhere-modern kitchen- Comfy beds- lovely garden. This is a working farm- so farm dogs & cats are curious to get to know you- sheep & cows don't mind you wandering in their fields. Nice fishing lake a short stroll away- full of fish- but they dont want to be caught. Nice base to explore surrounds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Solitude
Liked least: The Split level midway stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
It was lovely to meet you and your family. It was good you had some nice weather too.
Thankyou for your review.
Kind regards
Lower Dutson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another enjoyable and relaxing week.”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in the meadows cottage twice at Lower Dutson farm now, and on both occasions have had an extremely enjoyable week. The cottage was very spacious and had all we required for a comfortable stay. It provided an excellent base from which to go out visiting coastal towns on both North and South Cornish coastlines. The cottage is situated next to the farm and has an incredible view across the river Tamar and surrounding hills. All of the land belonging to the farm was free for us to wander and it was really interesting seeing all the hard work that goes into caring for livestock. The farm provides some superb fishing on both the Tamar for trout and salmon and the lake for carp, rudd, tench etc. As keen carp anglers we spent several evenings fishing for them, catching 23 carp to 15lb over the course of our stay. From when we first booked our stay, and for the entire time we were there, we were made to feel very relaxed and welcome. This of course, was totally down to Cathryn, Francis and the family. thanks for your warm hospitality. We look forward to seeing you all next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Thankyou for your kind review and we were pleased that you had caught several carp.
We look forward to seeing you again when you are able. The Canada geese have been on the lake again over past few days!
With best wishes
Lower Dutson Farm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHollywoo...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been visiting this property for over 20 years, during this time we have stayed in both swallows and meadows and have never been disappointed. We started bringing our children and we have been with our grandchildren. During our latest visit we brought a group of our friends and we had a lovely relaxing time.

The Farm is ideally located for visiting both Devon and Cornwall and is only 5 mins from the A30. There are so many places to visit within a short distance so plenty to keep you entertained.

The property is always clean and has all of the appliances/amenities that you would need. There is plenty to keep the children entertained both in the garden and indoors. On your arrival there is a welcome pack - milk, tea, coffee and fresh flowers.

The fishing on site is at a lake 5 mins walk from the property and is excellent. All your bait can be bought from the garden centre which is a 10 minute walk up the road.

The owners Katherine and Francis always give us a warm welcome, and the children have always been asked to have a look around the farm. If you come at the right time of year you can even see the lambs being born!

All in all we have enjoyed all of our holiday's over many years and we would recommend Lower Dutson Farm. We have just booked again for later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing