We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow, wow, wow!”
other travellers have booked this property
In 2017 we won a Recognition Of Service Excellence Award from Visit England.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In 2017 we won a Recognition Of Service Excellence Award from Visit England.
Gospenheale Barn has a spacious parking area. From here you can easily explore all of Cornwall. The open plan dining and living area has far reaching views over beautiful Cornish countryside.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
In 2017 we won a Recognition Of Service Excellence Award from Visit England.
Gospenheale Barn has a spacious parking area. From here you can easily explore all of Cornwall.
The open plan dining and living area has far reaching views over beautiful Cornish countryside.
Laura Ashley leather sofas (new in 2018) are a great place to relax and unwind.
Fully equipped kitchen in this upside down self catering barn conversion.
The oak A frames and large windows make this a lovely space for a relaxing holiday.
Gospenheale Barn is surrounded by beautiful Cornish countryside.
Bedroom 1 has a 5' kingsize bed and ensuite shower room.
Ensuite shower room with Jo Downs mini tiles and fused glass window.
Jo Downs made the fused glass windows in both the bathrooms.
Bedroom 2 with the beds zipped together to make a 6' super king.
Bedroom 2 with 3' single beds. There are black out roller blinds in all three bedrooms.
The family bathroom is next to bedroom 2 so ideal for privacy when two couples are sharing the barn.
Stairs to living area in this upside down barn conversion.
Patio area in Gospenheale Barn garden. Barbecue available.
Rural view from Gospenheale Barn steps.
Barn from the fields
Beautiful beaches are to be found like this just a few miles away on the North Cornwall coast.
A pair of woodpeckers sharing a worm on Gospenheale Barn garden wall,  Photo taken by a guest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Launceston, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
catherine...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow!”
Reviewed 16 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

After staying in many holiday cottages over the years Gospenheale barn is up there with the best of them. We as a whole family have loved every minute. From Bob the dog, the beautiful birds, flocks of sheep in he nearby field and Bridget and David (the owners of the barn).
We couldn't have asked for anymore. Everything we could have wanted and more! From arriving on the Friday afternoon to a warm welcome from Bridget, David and Bob the dog. We were shown around the barn and within half an hour we realised that the barn was well equipped with everything to make our stay perfect,
On arrival we had freshly made scones from Bridget with cream and jam, also a bottle of milk, which was welcomed after a long journey needing a cup of coffee.
Throughout the week we had visits from both Bridget and David making sure our stay was going ok and to also give us guidance on places to visit.
We took their advice on visiting Crackington Haven, which was beautiful. If you have time visit for the sunset as I'm sure it would be beautiful. This barn is perfect for visiting different areas and St Ives was the longest journey, which took 1 hour roughly. We visited the following places also. Fowey (our favourite), St Austell, St Ives, Mevagissey, Crackington Haven, Charlestown, Looe, Padstow and many more. We would suggest that if you want to visit most of these to go early as they were very busy as we leaving to go to our next stop.
Once again we could not fault this barn and the owners. Fabulous! Only wish we lived a little closer to visit regularly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJMFD
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The epitome of 'getting away from it all'.”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Despite being conveniently tucked away off of the A30 Gospenheale Barn is very well located for exploring both locally and regionally. The barn itself has wonderful views and just the right balance of privacy for relaxation as well a sense of security from the very friendly surrounding community.

Given our unfortunately late arrival we were very surprised and grateful for the amount of items that Bridget and David had provided in the accommodation from bread, scones, juice and milk to games, Netflix and postcards it really was all there.

That also highlights the nature of the hosts who it is clear have paid great attention to the needs of guests in order to ensure that this is a truly hospitable and comfortable environment where one can really relax. We enjoyed a wonderful walk around the farm on our last day courtesy of David and I sincerely say that as a city dweller this is the epitome of 'getting away from it all'.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2018
Thank you so much for your review. It is always great to read how much the Barn is appreciated by our guests. We aim to please. Yes we often say that the Barn is 'in the middle of everywhere' and a great spot for visiting both Cornwall and Devon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidg150...
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ultimate Cornish Get-Away”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Gospenheale Barn is ideally situated as a jumping off point to explore Cornwall.

Conveniently but not intrusively(!) situated close to the A30, it was easy day tripping from here, and we explored far and wide!

I am lucky enough to have travelled extensively on business and developed somewhat of a critical eye for rooms, bathrooms, living areas and so on. Therefore, its easy for me to confidently say that Gospenheale provides an extremely high level of accommodation and facilities. Comfy beds, well equipped kitchen, nice little touches... it has it all.

The owners are also very friendly, welcoming and happy to help enhance your stay in any way.

Finally, Bob the Dog was always on hand for a play if needed. ;)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to host you and your family. We particularly appreciated your comment on the guest feedback form left at the Barn that we are "Amazingly hard to fault!" It means a lot to us as guest satisfaction is our number one priority. We look forward to welcoming you to Gospenheale Barn again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P
1 review
“Stunning converted barn in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a lovely week staying at the barn. The location is ideal for North/mid Cornwall. The facilities are top-quality throughout. The owners, David and Bridget, are very helpful and recommended local places to eat, visit and shop. Highly recommend and we hope to visit again another time.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments we look forward to seeing you all again at Gospenheale Barn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour...
1 review
“This is the most amazing place EVER”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

David and Bridget are the most amazing hosts and Bob the dog great entertainment. Absolutely everything is catered for in this lovely barn conversion and the cream tea a definite hit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We really enjoyed having you stay and look forward to seeing you all again soon. Best wishes David & Bridget.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing