We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gail is amazing! Old Library stay was perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Rosscarbery, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chelle0k
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Gail is amazing! Old Library stay was perfect!”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

We stayed in Gail's Old Library option. We were on a hen party and there were twelve of us. Gail suggested activities for us and they were super. We started off with boxercise and then arrived back to the house where afternoon tea was perfectly laid out. Rosscarbery is a buzzing spot. We were a group of not many drinkers so caterers were organised Beano & Ginger and the food was absolutely delicious. The house was lovely with a spacious outdoor area for entertaining and in the late hours we sat around the sitting room which has plenty of sofas to fit us all and we played games. The next morning there was pancakes scones and yoghurts there for us. Then we went to the lagoon activity centre. Absolutely super time and Gail and her family are nothing short of superstars!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ling1991
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The location was ideal, right in the middle of the town.
The house was huge and the host was accommodating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
428Margar...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday to remember!”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Barracks which is a unique and historical place to stay. Gail the owner is lovely, we had a fantastic welcome. Gail had prepared afternoon tea. She has decorated the place in a vintage style which is my thing. We were in the centre of Rosscarbery and really felt we were part of the community. It is a beautiful place. The locals are friendly. We had fantastic weather. The Barracks is situated near lovely cafes and restaurants. We sat out in the evening. The Rosscarbery family festival was on so we really got the Irish experience! My son went to the open air disco in the square. The barracks has everything you could possibly need. There is an outside area and a bbq. Thank you Gail we had a great time and hoping to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and being near to everything including the beach.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran098
Westport, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very well presented and elegant townhouse set in the middle of this historic village square. Loads of personal touches and high specification of extras. Very handy (walking) for pubs, restaurants, kayaking on the lagoon and the supermarket. Short drives to watersports, golf, and sightseeing tours. Only limitation would be the confined back yard which is shaded a good deal of the day. Lovely and very attentive owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: homely comfort
Liked least: limited outdoor space
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaFit...
1 review
“A beautiful house in an excellent location”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A beautiful house, full of character. Was perfect for our 3 night stay with 3 young children. Gail supplied everything we could possibly need or want and all we had to bring was our clothes. We can't wait for an opportunity to return. Rosscarbery is a wonderful place, full of charm ... A great place to relax and a base to explore West Cork from.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing