We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare Service, Food, Wine & Ambiance Excellence!”

L Osteria del Merlo
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Cetona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I visited Cetona recently for a FAI event covering the entire borgo. For lunch, I reserved a table at L'osteria del Merlo and was impressed. It is so rare to find a restaurant that can do it all excellent: service, food, wine and ambiance. I praise Silvia and Rodolfo who served and managed the front of the house. The food is not solely typical Tuscan. There are eclectic menu variations on Tuscan favorites as well as inventive selections. Go with the suggestions of the waiters. We did and were pleasantly surprised. The house red wine is intoxicating and a great value. The ambiance is an updated old cantina with an authentic feel to it. The prices are all reasonable. Would I return to dine here again? Absolutely YES! Would I recommend it to others? Absolutely YES! Praise to Silvia and Rodolfo! Brava and Bravo!

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2021 via mobile

Over the top in every regard; service, ambience,food and accommodating staff. Would encourage dining there and I’ll be back.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank sunriverfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

We had a marvellous evening with friends. First stated at their vine bar, switched to the restaurant afterwards. Good vines and food.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank elifkleber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2020 via mobile

Great restaurant!
Food excellent, service very good, nice to sit outside, beautiful inside.
All ingredients for a fantastic evening!

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Ed1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2020 via mobile

A lovely restaurant in the main square of beautiful Cetona. The waiter was very attentive and hospitable and food delicious.

Date of visit: July 2020
2  Thank 344lindag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed L Osteria del Merlo also viewed

Cetona, Province of Siena
Cetona, Province of Siena
 
Sarteano, Province of Siena
Cetona, Province of Siena
 

Been to L Osteria del Merlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.