We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
J_M30a
Christchurch, New Zealand

This place is great for a large group.

Review of Zatori
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Oct 2023
Collingwood is a destination - you must want to go there as it's pretty much at the end of the road and you have to retrace your steps once you leave. However, if you go there and are part of a large group, Zatori is the place for you. We had 18 people in our extended family group of three generations and there was plenty of room for all with more rooms left over. We used both wings of the property but it would be possible to be fully functional in either with each having good kitchen and lounge facilities. The children appreciated the hot tub and we made good use of the kayaks in the estuary below the house. There's plenty of room outside for games on the lawn, drinks on the expansive deck and no shortage of parking. Tracey is an attentive hostess (but not intrusive) and arranged a delightful meal for the adults in our party. Fresh eggs and citrus from the trees added to our enjoyable experience.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Walker, Owner at Zatori, responded to this review
Responded 12 Oct 2023
Thank You so much :) I love having the house full of love & laughter & are always grateful of such kind guests leaving the place so clean and tidy, so you too get 5 stars! :-)
Hope to see you again, kindest thanks Tracey & Beau :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Entrance and Reception
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Zatori
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Zatori
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen room view
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
0.9 km from Zatori
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ruru Cottage Queen bedroom
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.6 km from Zatori
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
    0.8 km from Zatori
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    0.9 km from Zatori
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    15.5 km from Zatori
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    6.6 km from Zatori
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The two chalets.
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    16.9 km from Zatori
    Free parking
    Room service
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    1.3 km from Zatori
    View more hotels in Collingwood
    Reviews (179)
    Filter reviews
    179 results
    Traveller rating
    167
    7
    4
    0
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    167
    7
    4
    0
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 179 reviews
    Reviewed 15 August 2020

    Fine dining, beautifully presented dishes, lovely staff, perfect relaxation.
    A real treat and a special occasion indeed.
    The views from the dining room are priceless, and the furniture and décor a model of good taste, quality and comfort.
    Spotlessly clean.
    Wood-grain plastic dinner tables somewhat jarring.
    Didn't stay, just had dinner, but rooms looked exquisite.

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Thank Aulestes
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 July 2020 via mobile

    If you want to encounter the rudest owner EVER, try contacting the owner by messenger. She ignored me twice. I could see that she had read my messages. The third message I sent suggested that maybe her staff needed some training and she had lost herself $1000 worth of bookings. Her reply was unspeakably rude and naturally I am telling everybody that I meet.

    Date of stay: July 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    3  Thank bigtiddles69
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 June 2020

    Zatori is an immaculate character home full of atmosphere. Stylish and comfy, even the rooms in the backpacker wing are fantastic and a real bargain for this price. Tracey is an amazing host, and once you have sit down at the wooden deck overlooking the estuary, it will be hard to leave...

    Date of stay: June 2020
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Doerthe W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 March 2020

    We pulled into Zatori after the harrowing ride over Takaka Hill and were exhausted and famished . Our travel agent said there was no restaurant there so as we walked in and saw the communal dining room, we were elated, but had not made a reservation. They were super busy that night but Tracy welcomed us to come for a late dinner. From that first warm welcome to the zen feeling of the entire space, to our new friend and General Manager Steve, we loved our 3 night stay. In our 3 week NZ travels, Zatori was by far our favorite accommodation. The aesthetic felt almost ethereal to us with the distant trees and sand spit across the peaceful property, and modern retreat like decor. Such an interesting feel as the building was formerly both a retirement home and a midwifery hospital. And yet the feel now is one of retreat and relaxation. Very unique, with spectacular views, fabulous food and wonderful staff. Loved it and hope we get back some day! I would drive over Takaka Hill again just to stay at Zatori . We happened to meet a Fodor travel book writer later in our trip and mentioned it to her as a must include spot -- we hope it makes it in their next edition. Anne and John Belden

    Room tip: Certain rooms have their own little deck with gorgeous views.
    Date of stay: March 2020
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank anne b
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Zatori, Owner at Zatori, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2020

    WOW, How wonderful :-) As business here has ground to a scary halt, this has made our day! Kindest thanks, we Love having such wonderful guests to stay & totally appreciate your kind words. So hope we do see you again after the madness has calmed down. Take care & safe travels, Tracey Steve & Co :)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 March 2020

    Mom and I stayed in Zatori for a few nights to explore the area and relax. The place is very peaceful but not too far from all the attractions. The room was very comfortable with a patio and a small table outside. We had a kitchen to use with everything that's needed. Extra plus!
    The host and the site manager were extremely nice and welcoming. They made us feel at home. There is a great dinner offered to the guests with a beautiful view on the bay, there is also a sauna on site which was a special treat for me and mom. There are kayaks for your use, you can just carry them down to the bay and enjoy the bay on the water. The entire experience was very pleasant! We will absolutely come back.

    Date of stay: February 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank PoMonkey
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Zatori, Owner at Zatori, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

    Fantastic :) That's super nice that you had such a nice time & best of all that you will be back! Wonderful :D
    Best wishes & kind thanks, Tracey, Steve & Co :)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews