We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Annie
San Diego, California

Breathtaking Luxury Lodge

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Apr 2024
We spent an amazing three days at this incredible custom built lodge. It is simply paradise in all respects----views, room, food, staff and facilities. From our arrival through departure the experience was second to none on our New Zealand Adventure. The two Monikas, Bruno, and Tomas were beyond wonderful, somehow always there but never intrusive in any way. The lodge rooms were comfortable and spacious with the most amazing views of Whanganui Inlet. The walks in and around this magnificent property are breathtaking and a great way to enjoy the peace and tranquility of this special place. Finally---the breakfasts, lunches and dinners were delicious and we'll never forget the cake and tea provided in the afternoon. We were indeed reluctant to leave this magical place but definitely will return, and highly recommend the indulgence of visiting this remote slice of paradise on New Zealand's South Island.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
15.5 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
The two chalets.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free parking
Room service
Ruru Cottage Queen bedroom
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
13.1 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance and Reception
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
15.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
13.4 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cottage Room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
15.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
15.8 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen room view
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
16.0 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
    16.0 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    16.7 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    View more hotels in Collingwood
    Reviews (64)
    Filter reviews
    64 results
    Traveller rating
    61
    0
    2
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    61
    0
    2
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 64 reviews
    Reviewed 29 January 2022

    Dear Monika and family, we would like to sincerely thank you for our wonderful stay at your amazing Westhaven Luxury Lodge. It truly is a magical place and your hospitality and attentive service made it beyond excellent. From the stunning view from our room to the delicious meals and breathtaking surroundings, the whole experience was truly outstanding. Thank you!

    Date of stay: January 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank CriCB23
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 November 2021

    We had three wonderful nights at Westhaven Retreat and only left the grounds once - for the excellent walk up Knuckle Hill and the view over the inlet. The walk to South Head was special. Host were extremely welcoming, food was outstanding. Swimming pool, spa, and sauna were excellent. The views from the lodge were stunning.

    Room tip: Best view is from Room no.1.
    Date of stay: November 2021
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Ashley M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 May 2020

    The occasion was our Wedding Anniversary, a final gift to my wife of fifty four years.
    Everything others say is true. But there is more. Bruno, the two Monikas and Tomas have invested their lives in Westhaven Retreat and, in the process, they have made a Holy Place, a thin place, where it is entirely appropriate to remove your shoes at the door.
    If, like me, you still need to reach out to the Other and are wearied by the inane chatter of our contemporary world, you could do no better than to seek out the healing touch of Westhaven Retreat. Whatever it costs.

    Date of stay: May 2020
    Thank Graeme B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

    We stayed there for only 2 night. We were very sorry to leave. It was simply perfect!!!! at all Monica 1 and 2 made us feel at home Every detail was carefully planned. The food great .The surroundings were amazing . We had the chance to walk around and every corner had something amazing to show. Next time we will stay there longer.

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 291angelesb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 January 2020

    Westhaven Lodge is a unique place. The small hotel (7 or 8 guest rooms) sits atop an elevated peninsula between the Pacific Ocean and Whanganui Inlet, a tidal basin, with expansive, spectacular views of the inlet. The lodge has large, well-appointed guest rooms with luxurious bathrooms, and huge heated indoor pool. While there is no gym, the property features a half dozen hiking trails which will leave your leg muscles more sore than any stairmaster or treadmill. The property itself stretches over the entire peninsula, so guests can hike to both ocean beaches and the inlet. In addition to hiking, activities include surf fishing in the inlet, kayaking and, apparently for some parts of the year, hunting for wild pigs.

    Monica and her family run the hotel, live onsite and make you feel like a treasured guest. The service is great and the food is spectacular. Meals can be made to order; my wife had her own custom meals prepared to her liking. We spent 2 weeks in NZ and all of our best meals were at Westhaven.

    The plus and minus of the lodge is its isolated setting. The nearest commercial airport (Nelson) is ~3 hours away, with the last hour of the drive on a narrow, winding gravel road (4WD vehicles recommended). The nearest town of any size is at least an hour away. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place for you. If you want to go out to restaurants and bars, you are better off elsewhere. We were traveling with 3 teenage boys who loved the lodge for the 3 full days we spent there, but who would have been bored if we stayed a week.

    Room tip: Some rooms have huge bathroom with a large jacuzzi, while other rooms have a private lanai
    Date of stay: December 2019
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank U3005ETkevink
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Monika V, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

    Thank you Kevin, for taking the time to make a review. It was a pleasure having you stay with your family. Wishing you a healthy and happy Year of 2020 Cheers Monika

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews