We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nir n
San Diego, California

Can easily qualify as heaven

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2019
Everything in this glorious place deserves a 5 stars rating. the location, the views, the hosts, the food, the options in the area and the rooms. we stayed two nights in one of the two suites. my only regret is that we did not stay longer. we loved the hikes from the lodge. we loved the food. we loved the owners and the story of how they found and built the place.
Thanks for having us in your wonderful place. Noa & Nir
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monika V, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 7 Apr 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to make a review. We really enjoyed being your host.
Kind Regards Monika & Westhaven family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Entrance and Reception
$171
  • Priceline
    $171
  • Vio.com
    $171
  • eDreams
    $171
15.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cottage Room
$145
  • Priceline
    $145
  • Vio.com
    $145
  • eDreams
    $145
15.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
13.4 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$94
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $94
  • Expedia.com
    $93
  • Hotels.com
    $94
21.1 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
$185
  • Priceline
    $185
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
29.0 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$225
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $225
36.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$163
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $163
  • Vio.com
    $163
  • eDreams
    $163
37.0 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$179
  • Priceline
    $179
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
    $179
37.2 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aufenthaltsraum (1)
$78
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $78
  • Agoda.com
37.4 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$180
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $180
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    $180
37.7 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Collingwood
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
61
0
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
61
0
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2019

The wonderful journey began when Bruno picked us up at the Nelson airport in his Tesla Model X SUV, drove us an hour up the coast to Kaiteriteri where we transferred to a ship for a cruise along the coast calling into picturesque beaches and coves, finally to be met again by Bruno to drive the remaining 2 hours to the Lodge. The time spent with Bruno was a treasure as we learned all about Bruno and his family's dream to create a spectacular lodge which would be equal to the spectacular setting that surrounds it. It was built over a 9 year span by the loving hands of Bruno and his wife Monica, their daughter Monica, and son-in-law Tomas. The lodge itself has all the amenities one would expect in a luxury property, plus the family brings in up-and-coming chefs from around the world for the season to treat the guests to one fabulous meal after another. Kudos to Rosie in the kitchen! The views of the spectacular surroundings are everywhere throughout the lodge. And just outside the lodge are well-marked hiking trails, for the occasional hiker to seasoned veterans. And every outdoor activity imaginable is available for the asking. We met lots of friendly guests from all over the world, and shared gourmet meals with them at a large dining table. And there is a wide selection of great New Zealand wines available at the lodge. We began as strangers, but left 4 days later with new friends in Bruno, Monica, daughter Monica, Tomas, and their 2 sons. Great experience which we hope to repeat!

Room tip: They are all great.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mjgkng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2018

I am truly tempted to keep quiet so no-one else discovers this truly magnificent property. We stayed at the holiday cottage at Westhaven Lodge for 4 nights in November 2018 and loved every moment. The hosts are a delightful family and could not have been more welcoming or helpful from the moment we arrived. Whilst respecting our privacy, they were on hand whenever we wanted to chat or had a request. The cottage is warm, clean and comfortable with everything you need and enjoys restful views over farmland to the sea. The actual property is reached after a picturesque drive along the Coast (allow plenty of time so you can enjoy it). The destination is truly spectacular with various walks over farmland sprinkled with stunning rock formations, Nikau Palms, native bush and forests till you arrive at the sea. Be sure to charge your devices because there is a photo opportunity at every turn. The Lodge itself is a stunning building nestled discretely on top of a ridge looking out to sea and is a haven of luxury, tranquillity and peace. This is one destination you really should leave all technology behind and just "be in the moment". I cannot recommend it highly enough. Take a good look at the gallery page on the Westhaven Lodge website and you will understand, though nothing beats actually being there! Thanks for a wonderful holiday which we will treasure forever. We hope to return again soon.

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank Gardenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Be prepared for the 20 km's of dirt road or take a helicopter to get here. This hotel was designed, built and run by Monica, Bruno (the parents) and Monica (the daughter) and her husband Tomas who also manages the large working farm. The two Monica's run the hotel, serve breakfast lunch and dinner and generally pamper their guests. We were spoiled and made to feel like family from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
There are some wonderful, well marked walking trails on the large, mountainous property. Thomas offers tours in his four wheel drive and can take you for an entertaining 2-3 hour adventure. If you're into dogs, Bear the hotel mascot comes too, he's beautiful and so friendly.
The hotel has 7 large suites, a really large heated indoor pool, a jacuzzi and Monica junior is a certified masseuse. I highly recommend a treatment from Monica. Our room was well appointed with a large patio and magnificent views. Every window in the hotel has great views.
The day after we arrived there was a storm that washed away the main road that takes people across the mountains the the NW corner of the South Island so thousands of people were stranded. We couldn't have been stranded in a nicer place. Some people arrived by helicopter the day after the storm and Monica ensured that it came with supplies for the restaurant. We were extremely well fed and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel filled while we were there and someone suggested eating together at the large dining table. Everyone agreed and we had a fun time with some really nice people.
With help from Monica junior we eventually were able to leave the rental car in the local town and get a helicopter out sharing the cost with another couple in the same situation.
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and its proprietors, such wonderful people in a wonderful place. I recommend you spoil yourselves.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monika V, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay and we are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us! The Takaka Hill road is now finally open 24/7. They have certainly done an outstanding job to get traffic moving into Golden Bay again.
We hope to see you again some day, warmest Regards from us all. Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We arrived at Westhaven just as the tail end of a cyclone came through, dropping 8 inches of rain in one day. This luxurious lodge is spectacularly located along the top of a small mountain with views of both the Pacific Ocean and a huge bay on the inland side of the mountain. As things turned out, the cyclone washed out the only road leading out of this northwestern tip of the South Island so our original 3 night stay was extended to a 4 night stay since there was no way to drive on to our next scheduled location. Quite frankly, we loved Westhaven so much, we were quite happy to stay an extra day. The wonderful family that owns and runs Westhaven Lodge could not possibly been more helpful in helping us nail down alternative travel reservations and making our unexpected added day as enjoyable as the first three. Their hospitality was truly 5 star. The rooms in the lodge are large and beautiful and the food was superb. Two other factors made our stay at Westhaven one of the overall most enjoyable experiences during our 21 day vacation in New Zealand. First, the rain with the cyclone came and went periodically, allowing in between times for extended hiking on the huge property owned by Westhaven. The views were spectacular. Second, since the lodge only has a limited number of rooms for guests, we were all able to get to know each other in a way that would have been impossible in a larger lodge setting. The result was that instead of eating by ourselves at separate tables, we all ate dinner together at one large table and immensely enjoyed each others company. It really made our stay quite special.

Room tip: all of the rooms have wonderful views
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
monika v, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you. It certainly was an interesting week, but the company of you and our other lovely guests made uncommon weather event a very special time to remember. We hope to see you again one day, warmest Regards from everyone of our Westhaven Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the end of December 2017 and we loved every minute of our experience. The chef on-site is fantastic and the food was phenomenal! All the hikes available on the property are different and have stunning views! You discover the spectacular nature of New Zealand with no one around except the sheeps! We did kayak on the Inlet and we loved it! You can see the Ocean and the Inlet from many places. The views from the suite and the restaurant were outstanding! The family owners were so attentive to every detail. We felt welcome and well taken care of! The drive to get there is long and this place is luxurious so it is not cheap but honestly, it is worth every dollar and every kilometer to get there! We will never forget this place! Helene & Pierre from Canada

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Helen Violaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
monika v, Owner at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Helene & Pierre, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad liked your stay with, we also really enjoyed your company. We hope to see you again.
Monika & the Westhaven Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews