We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BoaterTony
Waretown, New Jersey

A wonderful luxurious get away from it all

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2018via mobile
Be prepared for the 20 km's of dirt road or take a helicopter to get here. This hotel was designed, built and run by Monica, Bruno (the parents) and Monica (the daughter) and her husband Tomas who also manages the large working farm. The two Monica's run the hotel, serve breakfast lunch and dinner and generally pamper their guests. We were spoiled and made to feel like family from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
There are some wonderful, well marked walking trails on the large, mountainous property. Thomas offers tours in his four wheel drive and can take you for an entertaining 2-3 hour adventure. If you're into dogs, Bear the hotel mascot comes too, he's beautiful and so friendly.
The hotel has 7 large suites, a really large heated indoor pool, a jacuzzi and Monica junior is a certified masseuse. I highly recommend a treatment from Monica. Our room was well appointed with a large patio and magnificent views. Every window in the hotel has great views.
The day after we arrived there was a storm that washed away the main road that takes people across the mountains the the NW corner of the South Island so thousands of people were stranded. We couldn't have been stranded in a nicer place. Some people arrived by helicopter the day after the storm and Monica ensured that it came with supplies for the restaurant. We were extremely well fed and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel filled while we were there and someone suggested eating together at the large dining table. Everyone agreed and we had a fun time with some really nice people.
With help from Monica junior we eventually were able to leave the rental car in the local town and get a helicopter out sharing the cost with another couple in the same situation.
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and its proprietors, such wonderful people in a wonderful place. I recommend you spoil yourselves.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monika V, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 8 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay and we are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us! The Takaka Hill road is now finally open 24/7. They have certainly done an outstanding job to get traffic moving into Golden Bay again.
We hope to see you again some day, warmest Regards from us all. Monika
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
    15.5 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Entrance and Reception
    $171
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Vio.com
    15.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    13.4 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Cottage Room
    $145
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • eDreams
      $145
    15.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $94
    No prepayment needed
    • Tripadvisor
      $93
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
    21.1 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    $185
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
      $185
    • ZenHotels.com
    29.0 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $225
    • Expedia.com
      $225
    • Agoda.com
      $222
    • Priceline
    36.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $163
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • eDreams
      $163
    37.0 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $179
    • Priceline
    • Vio.com
    • eDreams
      $179
    37.2 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Aufenthaltsraum (1)
    $78
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    37.4 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Collingwood
    Reviews (64)
    Filter reviews
    64 results
    Traveller rating
    61
    0
    2
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    61
    0
    2
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 64 reviews
    Reviewed 21 March 2018

    We arrived at Westhaven just as the tail end of a cyclone came through, dropping 8 inches of rain in one day. This luxurious lodge is spectacularly located along the top of a small mountain with views of both the Pacific Ocean and a huge bay on the inland side of the mountain. As things turned out, the cyclone washed out the only road leading out of this northwestern tip of the South Island so our original 3 night stay was extended to a 4 night stay since there was no way to drive on to our next scheduled location. Quite frankly, we loved Westhaven so much, we were quite happy to stay an extra day. The wonderful family that owns and runs Westhaven Lodge could not possibly been more helpful in helping us nail down alternative travel reservations and making our unexpected added day as enjoyable as the first three. Their hospitality was truly 5 star. The rooms in the lodge are large and beautiful and the food was superb. Two other factors made our stay at Westhaven one of the overall most enjoyable experiences during our 21 day vacation in New Zealand. First, the rain with the cyclone came and went periodically, allowing in between times for extended hiking on the huge property owned by Westhaven. The views were spectacular. Second, since the lodge only has a limited number of rooms for guests, we were all able to get to know each other in a way that would have been impossible in a larger lodge setting. The result was that instead of eating by ourselves at separate tables, we all ate dinner together at one large table and immensely enjoyed each others company. It really made our stay quite special.

    Room tip: all of the rooms have wonderful views
    Date of stay: March 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank Don B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    monika v, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

    Thank you so much for your kind review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you. It certainly was an interesting week, but the company of you and our other lovely guests made uncommon weather event a very special time to remember. We hope to see you again one day, warmest Regards from everyone of our Westhaven Family

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

    We stayed 3 nights at the end of December 2017 and we loved every minute of our experience. The chef on-site is fantastic and the food was phenomenal! All the hikes available on the property are different and have stunning views! You discover the spectacular nature of New Zealand with no one around except the sheeps! We did kayak on the Inlet and we loved it! You can see the Ocean and the Inlet from many places. The views from the suite and the restaurant were outstanding! The family owners were so attentive to every detail. We felt welcome and well taken care of! The drive to get there is long and this place is luxurious so it is not cheap but honestly, it is worth every dollar and every kilometer to get there! We will never forget this place! Helene & Pierre from Canada

    Date of stay: December 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank Helen Violaine G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    monika v, Owner at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

    Helene & Pierre, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad liked your stay with, we also really enjoyed your company. We hope to see you again.
    Monika & the Westhaven Team!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 May 2017

    to be quite honest this is the best place i have ever stayed the views are incredible they also have about 5 or 6 beaches all to yourselves the sunset is so amazing such a friendly atmosphere and the place is like no other its got the best of everything and not far from the Able Tasman park this is pure paradise. this is the second time we have stayed here and shall be returning although the date is incorrect we actually stayed Jan 2016

    Room tip: i would ask the owner which is the best room
    Date of stay: October 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank andypavey
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

    What an amazing part of the world. My husband and I spent 3 nights at Westhaven and it was the absolute highlight of our 16 day holiday around New Zealand. We had a private beach to ourselves for one of our days with a picnic lunch made for us by Monika, one of our beautiful hosts. Westhaven has the most fantastic walking and driving tracks you will ever come across. We could not fault anything, from our room to the meals, you will never go hungry, and the service was incredible. A big thank you to this great family for making us feel part of it, if only for a short while, was very hard to leave. We will be back and definitely longer next time. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Date of stay: February 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    3  Thank 904claudiap
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Monika V, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.
    It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 February 2017

    We have just returned from a fabulous three nights at this magnificent retreat. There is simply nothing not to love about staying at Westhaven The peace and tranquility is just amazing The property is breathtaking with its many stunning walking tracks ,some to cliff top mountains with panoramic views and others to pristine private beaches .The meals are excellent and prepared with love , you'll never go hungry. There are many activities on offer or you can just soak up mother nature at its best. Monica ( Mum) and Monica (daughter ) are just the best hosts you could wish for ! They are great people and make you feel welcome at all times . If you are considering staying here, consider no more just do it.The only downside was leaving. We look forward to our next stay. Thanks for everything Simon & Claudia

    Room tip: All rooms are great !
    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    3  Thank 576simonp
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Monika V, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

    Thank you Simon and Claudia for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host you and to show you our beautiful place. It would be pointless to have such a nice place without the many lovely and memorable guests, such as yourself, giving it life and purpose.
    Your are very welcome Monika (daughter)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews