We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Helen Violaine G
Montreal

Phenomenal & memorable location and experience!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jan 2018via mobile
We stayed 3 nights at the end of December 2017 and we loved every minute of our experience. The chef on-site is fantastic and the food was phenomenal! All the hikes available on the property are different and have stunning views! You discover the spectacular nature of New Zealand with no one around except the sheeps! We did kayak on the Inlet and we loved it! You can see the Ocean and the Inlet from many places. The views from the suite and the restaurant were outstanding! The family owners were so attentive to every detail. We felt welcome and well taken care of! The drive to get there is long and this place is luxurious so it is not cheap but honestly, it is worth every dollar and every kilometer to get there! We will never forget this place! Helene & Pierre from Canada
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
monika v, Owner at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 16 Jan 2018
Helene & Pierre, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad liked your stay with, we also really enjoyed your company. We hope to see you again.
Monika & the Westhaven Team!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
    15.5 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The two chalets.
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    6.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free parking
    Room service
    Ruru Cottage Queen bedroom
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Official Site
    • eDreams
    13.1 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Entrance and Reception
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    15.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Go to your Happy Price
    • eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    13.4 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Cottage Room
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    15.9 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      15.8 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Queen room view
        16.0 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
          16.0 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
          Free parking
          Beachfront
          • Agoda.com
          16.7 km from Westhaven Luxury Lodge
          View more hotels in Collingwood
          Reviews (64)
          Filter reviews
          64 results
          Traveller rating
          61
          0
          2
          1
          0
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          LanguageAll languages
          Traveller rating
          61
          0
          2
          1
          0
          See what travellers are saying:
          Selected filters
          Filter
          Updating list...
          13 - 18 of 64 reviews
          Reviewed 17 May 2017

          to be quite honest this is the best place i have ever stayed the views are incredible they also have about 5 or 6 beaches all to yourselves the sunset is so amazing such a friendly atmosphere and the place is like no other its got the best of everything and not far from the Able Tasman park this is pure paradise. this is the second time we have stayed here and shall be returning although the date is incorrect we actually stayed Jan 2016

          Room tip: i would ask the owner which is the best room
          Date of stay: October 2016
          • Trip type: Travelled with family
            • Sleep Quality
            • Rooms
            • Service
          2  Thank andypavey
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

          What an amazing part of the world. My husband and I spent 3 nights at Westhaven and it was the absolute highlight of our 16 day holiday around New Zealand. We had a private beach to ourselves for one of our days with a picnic lunch made for us by Monika, one of our beautiful hosts. Westhaven has the most fantastic walking and driving tracks you will ever come across. We could not fault anything, from our room to the meals, you will never go hungry, and the service was incredible. A big thank you to this great family for making us feel part of it, if only for a short while, was very hard to leave. We will be back and definitely longer next time. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

          Date of stay: February 2017
          Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          3  Thank 904claudiap
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Monika V, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

          Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.
          It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you again.

          Report response as inappropriate
          This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed 26 February 2017

          We have just returned from a fabulous three nights at this magnificent retreat. There is simply nothing not to love about staying at Westhaven The peace and tranquility is just amazing The property is breathtaking with its many stunning walking tracks ,some to cliff top mountains with panoramic views and others to pristine private beaches .The meals are excellent and prepared with love , you'll never go hungry. There are many activities on offer or you can just soak up mother nature at its best. Monica ( Mum) and Monica (daughter ) are just the best hosts you could wish for ! They are great people and make you feel welcome at all times . If you are considering staying here, consider no more just do it.The only downside was leaving. We look forward to our next stay. Thanks for everything Simon & Claudia

          Room tip: All rooms are great !
          Date of stay: February 2017
          • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
            • Value
            • Location
            • Service
          3  Thank 576simonp
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Monika V, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

          Thank you Simon and Claudia for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host you and to show you our beautiful place. It would be pointless to have such a nice place without the many lovely and memorable guests, such as yourself, giving it life and purpose.
          Your are very welcome Monika (daughter)

          Report response as inappropriate
          This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

          After the drive, which is beautiful but with a few kilometres of winding grave roads you will arrive at Nirvana. The views of and from the lodge are breathtaking. The scenery around the 1000 acre property is totally awe inspiring that you could literally spend days exploring. The interior of the lodge is truly a work of art with lots of local stone and wood used throughout. The interior of the suites are decorated with a very fine eye for detail and the finest finishes and fixtures. The indoor spa area is wonderful with a full swimming pool and jacuzzi. Massage services are available upon request.

          The meal package which is a must, (no other dining options around) includes 3 meals a day, picnic lunch is available. The food was very good, especially the in-house smoked salmon, and roasted tomato soup. Chef Tony is top notch!

          Monica, Bruno, Monica, and Thomas are wonderful hosts and will make your stay very enjoyable.

          If you have an electric car no worries, they have a charging station. Bear the lodge dog likes a scratch behind the ears if you get a chance.

          Date of stay: February 2017
          Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          3  Thank BeaversTravelWell
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          Monika V, Manager at Westhaven Luxury Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

          Thank you for taking time to write a review. It was a pleasure to host you and "Bear" misses the extra attention and now spends his days days lying at the front door, waiting for the another guests to give him a scratch!

          Report response as inappropriate
          This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
          Reviewed 25 January 2017

          Beauty, privacy, service, location - if these things matter to you then you can do no better than Westhaven Luxury Lodge. It is everything the name suggests, but much more. Situated on a 1000 acre peninsula on the west coast of the upper South Island, it is privately owned, took 10 years to complete, and is overseen by a wonderful family who will accommodate you in every aspect of your stay, from food to activities to spa services. With limited time, my husband and I elected to spend an entire day (and half of the next one) hiking the miles of trails to a totally private beach and to the top of the highest vista on the peninsula. The scenery is straight out of Jurassic Park and simply not to be missed. It takes a good bit of driving to get there (and don't let the dirt road at the end deter you, we made it easily in a small Mazda) but well worth it.
          Just one note - the room we were in did not have a TV (though there is a large one in the public living area) and while they do have wifi and internet, don't plan on downloading large files of movies or games unless you request this service ahead. I had no trouble answering emails, getting phone calls or getting online to do some research. Put down the electronics and enjoy a truly idilic place!

          Room tip: Only a few rooms and all have the same view so no recommendation here - they're all good.
          Date of stay: January 2017
          • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
            • Location
            • Cleanliness
            • Service
          1  Thank mmunrover
          This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
          View more reviews