We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Station House Motel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zatori Retreat(Collingwood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wetland View Park(Collingwood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Twin Waters Lodge(Collingwood)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pioneer Motels(Collingwood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Heron's Rest(Collingwood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Outpost(Collingwood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
73
38
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
38
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspolice stationfarewell spiteco tourgolden baygreat place to stayfrench doors openingthe cottagesyoung familynew zealandacross the roadone nightwithin walking distancegarden roomstayed two nightsgreat coffee and breakfastfittings and furnishingshistoric building
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Sylvie, the owner was lovely and friendly. The building used to be the Police Station. Our room, actually in the owner's house, was clean, spacious and the bed very comfortable. Free wifi. Lovely en-suite bathroom. |Facilities to make a Good location. Very quiet town, but nice to relax there.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank UtxiGirona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationHouseMotel, Owner at The Station House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Nice to hear the bed was comfortable. We have recently bought all new beds and haven't yet had a complaint. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

We arrived in town without a booking and were lucky to secure a room at the Station House.
It is about 200m away from the departure point for Farewell Spit Tours.
As you can see from the photo - it is actually an old house that has ensuite rooms for rent. We had the room on the left in the photo which included the bedroom, sunroom, small dining room/kitchenette and bathroom.
Being a warm day (for Collingwood) and the windows facing west the room was a bit too hot in the afternoon, but opening the windows after the sun went down let it cool OK. Flyscreens and air-conditioning are not standard in NZ :-)
The hosts were very friendly and helpful.
There is parking on the lawn right outside.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationHouseMotel, Owner at The Station House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi Geoff, Thanks for the nice review. We know that room can get quite warm but only once or twice a year and the windows do help. We also have fans to use. Flyscreens and air-conditioning are not needed in Collingwood as there are no flys and it never gets too hot or too cold. Thanks for mentioning the hosts are very friendly and helpful, it warms our hearts.

Darren and Sylvie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

A gorgeous, historical motel with a nice grounds and a great location!

We were under serious time constraints during our stay here as we had finished the Abel Tasman Coast Track in the morning, then drove up to Collingwood for the 3pm Eco Tour. I called ahead to see if we could check in a bit early to the Station House to shower and rest before the Eco Tour. That was no problem, and they had our room ready for us by noon (do call ahead though, regular check in is at 2pm).

The family who owns and lives at the hotel is super nice, and we wished we could have stayed longer to chat with them. We got up and left at 6:30 in the morning the next day, so our time there was too short to truly enjoy.

The room was very comfortable, clean, and had a great (strong water pressure!) shower. It's located two blocks from the Eco - tour office, the market, and the beach. Great, bright and sunny, hotel with an awesome history.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank snapjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationHouseMotel, Owner at The Station House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2016

Now thats a review!!! Thankyou so much for the kind words. We get alot of early checkins and we don't mind a bit, even if we haven't had time to prepare the room, guests can always drop off luggage anytime. Funny how you mentioned the great water pressure in the shower, some people who come from places short of water think the pressure is too high and we are wasting water, I guess we can't please everyone. Once again thankyou for leaving a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your brief stay here and hope you come again. Its nice to have nice people stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

A quick trip over the hill for one night only. We had the family unit which cost $165 for our family of 4. Lovely host who allowed us to arrive in slightly early as room was ready. Historic setting with a couple of small accommodation options onsite. WE had a family unit which reminded me of a kiwi style traditional bach, kids room small but fitted the 2 beds for their good night's sleep, comfy queen bed in living area. Clean and kitted out with the extras for a comfy stay. We dined at the pub and Courthouse for pizza AND best hot choccy in NZ! Kids swam in local school pool NIce option to stay at in central Collingwood and use as a base to explore the beautiful Goldy Bay!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HAPDAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StationHouseMotel, Owner at The Station House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thankyou for the lovely review. The Courthouse Cafe has the best pizza and the best hot chocolate, we here that alot.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Darren and Sylvie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here. Absolutely adored the place. Quiet and friendly, just what we like.Collingwood itself is a nice little village far enough away from the busy town but commutable if need be. Our unit was very clean and well furnished. The shower was awesome. The Mr of the party didn't want to get out!!!!! If you are coming this way,please stay here

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mairead D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thestationhouse, Owner at The Station House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

We love the fact you adored our place, especially your room and the shower, Thankyou for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews