We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Gold Hunting Adventures
from US$271.37
More Info
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

Over Easter we did both the day 1 and day 2 courses with Steve, and what an adventure it was! Brilliant first taste of all of the key elements of gold hunting! Steve is an incredibly patient, knowledgeable teacher and his passion for gold hunting is infectious! Nothing like finding your first pieces of the shiny stuff! We will definately be back.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2019 via mobile

Me and my friend did an overnight trip with Steve and it was amazing. He is the perfect guide. Professional and enthusiastic. He knows so much about the history of nz and the wild life, flora and fauna and even the geology. I'm a kiwi and returned with a new knowledge and interest in our history and wildlife. The adventure was great and a rare opportunity to go to seldom reached places in a beautiful part of nz. I found gold! It was great to find some lovely bits to take home and exciting to actually find that first bit! Steve knows exactly where to look and took us through several different techniques. All were successful. He is super experienced and clearly in his element while also enjoying guiding people to share what he loves. I cant recommend a trip with him enough. It's something very different, and you can't get closer to nz nature and history than this.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Ash_Katchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2019

This was our second gold hunting outing with Steve. Had a brilliant time and quite an adventure. Came home with some lovely gold specimens. Highly recommended. Hope to visit here again

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank lovegold123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019

Steve is an amazing person who spends all of his time ensuring you get the most out of your Gold Tour with Gold Hunting Adventures ,
The day started with a 15 min drive through the beautiful Takaka countryside heading towards the goldfields while giving me a rundown of the terrain and how gold forms deep inside the earth and how we were going to prospect on todays tour .

After a 15 walk from the car Steve had me finding small nuggets with the metal detectors in the tailings left over from the old timers that mined the area in the 1800's .
After a few hours with the metal detectors we stopped for a yummy lunch in the bush and recharged our batteries for the next adventure and we went down to the river to find some more gold ( and we did ) .
Day 2 was straight to the river to pan and set up the sluice box which was amazing , He taught me so much about gold panning and sluice boxing i felt like a professional and wanted to do gold hunting full time ( i didn't even want to stop for lunch ) .
We got some nice nuggets on day 2 as well .
Day 3. i asked Steve if i could cancel the river dredging and i asked if we could go panning , sluice boxing and metal detecting again because it was so much fun and he was happy to change his plans for me so we could do what i wanted .
We hiked for about an hour to another spot and again we were on the gold and by the end of the day i had a good collection of small nuggets .
I TOTALLY RECOMMEND GOLD HUNTING ADVENTURES with Steve and i recommend everyone should try this tour .Steve is a wealth of knowledge and he never gets tired of teaching you everything he knows about GOLD to ensure you find your full of gold .

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile

Introduction to gold panning was a 10/10 family adventure experience. All 6 of us agree we should have made it an all day activity. Steve had us IN river successfully finding gold in a beautiful 'claim' spot. No doubt Steve is a real prospector who delighted in sharing his knowledge and giving us a thrill. We really had a great time thank you.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank NZAsset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews