We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eddy G
Washington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment we entered the caravan park we were perfectly at ease. On arrival we found the reception was closed, however in my confirmation email I was forewarned of this, and was given clear directions on how to pick up the keys. We found our caravan easily and found it was immaculate and perfect for us, as it was fully stocked with all household amenities and utensils. The floor creaked a bit but I suppose that's to be expected, and there was no wi-fi, which may not be to everybodys liking, but we didnt mind as it added to our privacy. however that's the only fault, if you could call it that. Within minutes a staff member greeted us and was lovely, and made sure we had everything we needed, including contact numbers should we require help with anything.
The site itself is well signposted, and is a short, scenic journey from local towns Cockermouth and Keswick, as well as Lake Bassenthwaite. The only bad thing about our stay was the end.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The caravan itself, and the scenery
Liked least: The creaking floor of the caravan.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne249
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful caravan in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Lovely clean and modern caravan with beautiful surroundings. Free wifi is a great way of staying in touch with family and friends during your stay. Very well maintained site with friendly owners. The alpaca on the site is very friendly and funny. You do need a car to stay on this site. I would recommend this caravan park for a peaceful scenic stay in the Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful view and the alpaca
Liked least: Miles to travel to the nearest shop
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura A
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Caravan is exactly like the photos, very modern, more importantly very clean! The site is nice and quiet just what we were after, the views from the park are beautiful. Would definitely come back again, we were impressed with the caravan, the lodges look nice as do the dobbys so might have to give them a try.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanette...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful caravan in a picturesque and quiet location”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at the Skiddaw View holiday park near keswick. The location is very picturesque, quiet and close enough to visit the town and its attractions. My children enjoyed the small play area and talking to the resident alpaca and goats. The caravan itself is of a very high standard with lovely furnishings. It was comfortable, warm, well equipped and it was nice not having to make the beds up on arrival. The only downside for us was that the decking area wasn't big enough to sit on and in particular there is none outside the french doors. It would be lovely to open these doors up and have dinner outside. The wooden picnic table on the grass with attached benches is OK but not that comfortable for dining and you have to take your plates etc up and down the steps to do so. I wouldn't recommend the caravan to parents with toddlers or a baby as you would have to be extra careful if opening the french doors as there is quite a drop to the ground and it would be such a shame to have to keep them shut.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of fittings/furniture etc
Liked least: That the decking is not big enough to sit on and in particular there is none outside the french doors in the living area. The big drop to the ground from the french doors is not good for people with young children
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaine67
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic place to stay.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Caravan was spotless on arrival and very well equipped. Lovely location. Would definitely stay there if we go to the Lakes again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No complaints!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$447
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing