We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Rio Grande
from US$66.00
More Info
from US$109.00
More Info
from US$99.00
More Info
from US$68.00
More Info
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
195
99
12
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
99
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shore excursion booked this tour royal caribbean puerto rico the river would highly recommend this tour granola bars el yunque great hike backpack dan guide rainforest trail flora facts
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We did the Enchanted Island Eco Tours "Rainforest Nature Walk to Waterfall Adventure" which we booked through our Royal Caribbean cruise. It said it was a paved moderate hike so we signed up.
Yes, it is paved although you have to watch your step in several spots. And if it is wet or raining I would not want to be out there.
We were not informed of the 100 plus steps until we were part way there. What???!!!
I have bad knees so was not thrilled to hear this bit of news. Most everyone was able to do them fine, however there were a few of us that were less than impressed with it. And be warned there are some areas that are quite steep you must go up & down.
Once you finally get to the waterfall to catch your breath you are not there long before you turn around & do it all over again.

Our guide was very knowledgeable but don't expect to see a lot of animals. We saw several large snails on trees & a couple small lizards on trees. Nothing more.
It was someone pretty, but not over the top fantastic.

On the drive in to get up the very steep hill they for some reason have to turn the air conditioning off so be prepared to get warm. I'm sure this is to save them gas money. But when I paid what it was for the tour I think they could have splurged for gas money to keep us cool.

I must give kudos though to the very nice helpful guides. There was one main guide & 2 others.

We were not in port long in Puerto Rico so were limited on our excursion choices. Quite honestly I wish we would have just stayed on the ship. From the little bit I saw of Puerto Rico I would not have wanted to go into the city on my own at all.

If you are not on a cruise & staying there you can go to this walk on your own. There is a parking lot & then you are not limited to the amount of time to stay at the waterfall.
Plus save a lot of money because do you really need to know what every tree in the forest is called that you are not going to remember by the end of the tour?

If you have walking poles they would be very handy to have on this hike. The tour should offer them available like the backpacks.

Hope this helps those that are deciding what to do with their time.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank roxanee608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Our evening tour to see the bioluminescent life in Laguna Grande was so much fun. Both that and the twilight nature walk were unlike anything we had ever tried before and well worth it!
Definitely some people on our tour who had no idea how to steer/paddle a kayak, but there weren't too many collisions! The trip was well organized, guides gave good instructions and ensured everyone's safety. We were warned the biolum has been very low, but, luckily it was a dark night and the glow was more than they'd seen in a while.
The twilight nature walk in the rain forest was another intersting learning experience and Michael was friendly, enthusiastic and informative.
Ada was also the best at making sure we got our kayaking pictures - they seemed to be missing for a while, but she never gave up & she found them for us!
Will definitely book tours with Enchanted Island Eco Tours if we're back in PR again!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank PZB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We had hoped to tour the Bioluminescent bay and had found Enchanted Island to be the best reviewed of the providers for this. Throughout the booking process the folks on the phone were up-front about the fact that conditions at the bay had been poor for viewing and let us know that they were booking any tours as "twilight kayak tours" rather than bio-bay experiences -- reading some of the recent bad reviews for other providers who gave no such information shows that they are unique in this honest and upfront approach.

As it turned out we decided to go with the twilight guided rainforest walk instead; we are experienced hikers and were not sure how much value we would get from a guided tour but this turned out to be a highlight of the trip. Mike, our guide, is hugely knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the Puerto Rican forest ecosystem and his excitement at finding various flora and fauna is contagious.

The tour starts around dusk as the forest begins to "transform" from daytime to nighttime modes. A short trip down an easy slope into the forest itself leads to a swimming hole. As the darkness falls you are given a special red light that allows you to see where you are going and look at the frogs, insects, birds, and plants without disturbing them or ruining your night vision. In both directions Mike provided expert commentary on what we were seeing. We saw many "croakies" (tree frogs), spiders, snails, luminescent insects and even a tiny sleeping bird called a toddy.

This is something we never would have experienced without a knowledgeable guide.

We can recommend both this tour as an experience and Enchanted Island as a company.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We booked this tour through a Royal Caribbean Cruise shore excursion. The tour guides were waiting outside the ship and we're extremely friendly and professional. We immediately boarded two small busses to the rainforest.

Once we arrived at the rainforest, the tour company provided backpacks with towels, snacks, water and bug repellent. We sprayed ourselves and began our journey down the path.

The tour guide was extremely informative and well versed on the flora and fauna. The walk was at a nice pace and we ultimately arrived at the river where we could swim in the beautiful clear pooled water.

Once everyone was refreshed and cooled off we began our slow stroll back up.

All in all a very nice tour with a highly professional staff. Definitely recommend

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank sjm5813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Ce fut une belle excusrsion avec un animateur passionné! Nous aurions aimé des chutes et un trajet plus aventureux mais la passion du guide en valait le détour! On a bien aimé!

This was a nice excusion because of the passion we could feel through the guide's knowledge! He was great! We were expectating a more rugged path and some waterfalls, but all the details we could see through the eyes of our leader were well worth the confortable walk!!! Loved it!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews