We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Rio Grande
from US$66.00
More Info
from US$109.00
More Info
from US$99.00
More Info
from US$68.00
More Info
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
195
99
12
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
99
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shore excursion booked this tour royal caribbean puerto rico the river would highly recommend this tour granola bars el yunque great hike backpack dan guide rainforest trail flora facts
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We booked this tour through a Royal Caribbean Cruise shore excursion. The tour guides were waiting outside the ship and we're extremely friendly and professional. We immediately boarded two small busses to the rainforest.

Once we arrived at the rainforest, the tour company provided backpacks with towels, snacks, water and bug repellent. We sprayed ourselves and began our journey down the path.

The tour guide was extremely informative and well versed on the flora and fauna. The walk was at a nice pace and we ultimately arrived at the river where we could swim in the beautiful clear pooled water.

Once everyone was refreshed and cooled off we began our slow stroll back up.

All in all a very nice tour with a highly professional staff. Definitely recommend

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank sjm5813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Ce fut une belle excusrsion avec un animateur passionné! Nous aurions aimé des chutes et un trajet plus aventureux mais la passion du guide en valait le détour! On a bien aimé!

This was a nice excusion because of the passion we could feel through the guide's knowledge! He was great! We were expectating a more rugged path and some waterfalls, but all the details we could see through the eyes of our leader were well worth the confortable walk!!! Loved it!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Let me start with saying the company is awesome! The people running it are honest, nice, quick to get back to you, and focused on customer satisfaction. This review is in regards to our experience on the Twilight Nature Walk only.

I called the company hoping to book a bio bay tour. The woman I spoke with was quite honest in saying it was definitely not the best year for this tour due to weather conditions that killed off the bio organisms. So my group decided to do the Twilight Nature Walk.

Unfortunately transportation was not available so we decided to rent a car for the day and explore some of the island before meeting for our walk. The meeting spot was easy enough to find and the company even provided someone to watch over our vehicles while we took the twilight walk. Very much appreciated!

I think my group just expected more of the walk. The walk itself was a lot shorter than we thought it would be. We stopped quite often to look at trees. The only wild life we really observed where the frogs, which were cool to see at first but when that was all we saw became quite boring. The swimming hole was nice, it was cold, but nice. There were a lot of local kids swimming that day, but they were polite and fun.

After the hole, we put our head lamps on and looked at more frogs. On the walk back we saw some bioluminescent leaves. Unfortunately our night vision kept getting ruined by a teen that kept turning on his head lamp (I don't think he knew English too well).

Mike, the guide / owner was very nice and knowledgable on the Rainforest and ecosystems. Again, I just don't think this walk was what we thought it would be and was less than we hoped for.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank BouncinAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

This was not much of an "adventure." It was an extremely short walk on a paved path. I was hoping for a longer and more challenging hike in a forest. Although our guide was friendly and informative, there wasn't much need for a guide. It would have been impossible to get lost here. If you have young kids or are a senior citizen, this would be a great walk, but if you're looking for a challenge or workout, you might want to find another activity.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank U1737CFheathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EIETManagement, Owner at El Yunque Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Thank you for your time and efforts to write this review, we are very driven to hear from our guests as to better promote our tour products! Your review has been extremely helpful, because we always welcome constructive criticism that can help us improve our efforts to bring guests of Puerto Rico wonderful experiences while on the island. We market our Rainforest Nature Walk to Waterfall Adventure as a relaxing walk into El Yunque as we make many stops and our lead guide gives interpretive commentary on the flora and fauna of the forest. The way we describe the tour on our website is intended to give the impression of a tranquil journey. After reading your review, we have realized that we need to make changes to our website that would be more descriptive of the tour and provide our guests with a better understanding of what to expect while with us in the forest. Again, thank you for your feedback. We will be working to make the necessary changes.

Thank you,

Mike Riley
Field Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Excellent! I would recommend this to anyone. Knowledgeable and friendly people. The scenery was awesome.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Stephanee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews