We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$171
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Priceline
$171
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
$171
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
skitrip20142014
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom

Great location for the Mail Boat trip

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jan 2024
Lovely traditional Kiwi motel. Very spacious and spotlessly clean. Set well back off the main highway, but 2 minutes walk to the shops and restaurants. Plenty of parking and very helpful hosts. The ducklings were a delight strolling around with motherduck.
Excellent location if you are doing the mail boat trip, the owners allowed us to leave our car there for the day of the trip, then just a 10 minute walk to the boat.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Communal lounge
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.2 km from Havelock Garden Motel
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
4.2 km from Havelock Garden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Unit Bedroom
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
5.7 km from Havelock Garden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial view of On the Track Lodge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
11.7 km from Havelock Garden Motel
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Havelock Garden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$171
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $171
  • eDreams
    $171
  • Vio.com
    $171
0.0 km from Havelock Garden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Rooms
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
17.0 km from Havelock Garden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
19.9 km from Havelock Garden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
20.2 km from Havelock Garden Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Havelock
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
100
43
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
43
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town two bedroom unit the main street beautiful trees quiet location one night lovely spot within walking distance friendly service two nights the kitchen units hosts supermarket clan appliances tranquil
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

Friendly people running an excellent motel. The rooms are dog-friendly, large and comfortable. Booking and check in easy. The setting and location excellent. Highly recommended and if ever in this part of the country would certainly stay again.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RickM638
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2023

Lovely clean, comfortable and very spacious unit for our one night stay. Our arrival was v late due to traffic issues, but communication with owner very good and she was v helpful. Lovely quiet location. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FellowTraveler654593
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2023 via mobile

Comfortable, quiet, clean and spacious accommodation for our one night stay whilst touring NZ South Island.

Parking right outside our door. Blankets available for us to remake the comfortable king bed which was alreadymade up with a doona and electric blanket.

The motel is within easy walking distance of all you might need when staying in the area.

Our main reason for staying here was to enjoy the green lipped mussels that are a specialty of the area.

Room tip: The motel is next door to The Mussel Pot
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ap19522019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2023

Excellent motel. We stayed in room 12, which has disability access, great shower/wet room, very spacous bedroom with high quality linens and super comfy king sized bed, and lovely lounge area with a pull out bed, we didnt use this. This room was at the back of three rows of motel units, very quiiet, with attractive flowering plants, and a bush walk to a waterfall next door.highly recommend.

Room tip: Great value, very well built, high quality unit.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 657clareb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2023 via mobile

Booked this motel based on the reviews but were very disappointed.

Had a Deluxe studio but we are still trying to figure out what was Deluxe about it as it was very, very basic and tired.
The only good things were its great setting and that it was quiet.
This could be a fantastic motel but needs money spending on it to update and improve its facilities.

Wouldn’t recommend it.

Room tip: Drive onto Nelson
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kirsa Sowman, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

Hi Pete, Our Deluxe Studio was renovated in 2021, with a new kitchen installed as well as new paint, carpet, curtains and blinds. So to hear you say the unit is basic and tired is a disappointment. There are photos available on Tripadvisor showing the unit, and call me biased, I think it looks great.
I feel that if you were that disappointed in their unit, that you feel a one star review is fair, that you should of come and talked to us while you were here and let us know there was a problem.
Just as a FYI - we purchased the motel in Oct 2020 and in our three years here have fully renovated 4 of the 12 units and we will keep working on them as time and money permits.
All the best to you.
Cheers, Kirsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews