We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
67
35
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
35
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main road mature trees centre of town lovely grounds hidden away separate bedroom bed unit pleasant place to stay bush setting electric blankets green oasis small town marlborough sounds new zealand good size long drive laundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We stayed at the Havelock Garden Motel for two nights so that we could take the Pelorus Mail Boat trip. The Havelock Garden Motel is very appropriately named. The motel is set back from the main road in a lovely garden setting. While it is in the centre of Havelock and in close walking distance to supermarkets, cafes and the hotel, the setting makes it very quiet so that you get a good night's sleep. We had a two bedroom unit which was well laid out and had a separate covered carport. The owners were friendly and all in all the stay in Havelock was one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand. It would have been nice to have a television in each of the bedrooms instead of just the lounge. I know that is picky but you have to be picky if you want to say anything that is not glowing about this establishment.

Room tip: The one and two bedroom units are good value for money.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MuzzaQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Good morning MuzzaQueensland Thank you so much for your kind words. It is very satisfying to know that we have played a part in making our guests visit to tiny Havelock a pleasant experience. Hopefully we will see you again should you pass through Marlborough on a future holiday. Kind regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015

We decided last minute to stay in Havelock while touring the Marlborough Sounds, so pleased we found this little gem. Our one bedroom unit was spotlessly clean and modern, with everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Karen, the owner is lovely, very friendly and informative - we will keep The Garden Motel in mind for next time we are in the area.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paganlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

Good morning Paganlady, Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking time out of your holiday to write a review, it is much appreciated. Hopefully we will meet again should you re-visit beautiful Marlborough. Kind regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015

We stayed a night in a studio unit. It was clean and I especially enjoyed the bright, cheery yellow towels. You won't find that color just anywhere. It was a warm night so had to have the windows open as there was no AC or fans. The unit lacked a stove but the owner was more than happy to provide a two burner plug in appliance. Unfortunately, we stayed next to a smoking couple who smoked outside---which they should have, and had smoke smell wafting into the room because, again, the windows were open. Also, because it was Sat. night, a live band played until almost
1:30 am close to the motel. Smoke, band, well that took away from a comfortable beginning night's sleep. Friendly owner, motel setting in the woods, AND 50+ TV channels.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RonsKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2015

How disappointing that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. As the summers in New Zealand appear to be getting hotter and January was particularly warm with a temperature of over 30 most days I can understand that you would have found the unit particularly warm. We have however, over the last couple of years, installed Air Conditioning in 7 of our 12 units and are hoping to add at least two more to that number over the coming winter. It was even more unfortunate that your stay coincided with the wedding of a local young lady who held her evening function at the town hall and had invited most of the Havelock community to join in the celebrations. This is of course a rare occurrence which is beyond our control and was made more noticeable because it was such a still night and the noise travelled that much further. Hopefully our short comings will not influence your decision to visit sleepy little Havelock on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

We stayed for 2 nights but wished we could spend longer there. Lovely hosts, rooms perfect, garden very relaxing. Owners deserve a gold star for the effort they put in to thinking of everything one might need..

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Footloose943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Hello Footloose943 Thank you so much for your kind review. Very pleasing to know that we played a part in making you Havelock experience that much more enjoyable.
Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We were planning on staying somewhere at Picton so it was really only by chance we decided to stay the night in Havelock - but we were really glad we did!

Spotlessly clean, modern and comfortably... and well worth the price. Highly recommended.

In fact, we enjoyed the accommodation so much at Havelock Garden Motel that we stayed on for a further a 2nd night and spent the following day enjoying the tiny town and a trip on the local mail boat courtesy of Karen - the very kind and generous motel owner.

David & Pornteera
Thailand

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Hi David and Pomteera, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and very glad that you enjoyed sleepy Havelock. What beautiful day you had to enjoy the raffle prize I won for day on the Pelorus Mail boat and so pleased I chose two such appreciative guests. Hopefully we will meet again. Kind regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews