We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than we expected. A day we'll never forget”
Review of Pelorus Mail Boat

Pelorus Mail Boat
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Havelock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: An all day cruise through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds delivering mail and groceries to remote and secluded properties. The Pelorus Sound is the largest of the Sounds and the Mail Boat is a lifeline to the people living in this boat access wonderland.You will hear a great selection of stories about life in the sounds, its history, and how the mail has been delivered like this since 1918.You will also get to experience the marine and bird life in the area including 5 types of Dolphins, Australasian Gannets, rare Shags, Seals and many more.A full Mussel Farm tour is also included and there is usually an opportunity to see the Mussel Boats operating during harvesting or seeding. We will stop off at a local lodge and passengers are able to buy lunch or bring your own lunch and come with us to a local farm for a tour. You will also be able to enjoy a bush walk or swim if you would like. We are now operating 7 days in summer, which is November to April.
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Date of experience: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"biscuits"
in 20 reviews
"blue penguins"
in 14 reviews
"skipper jim"
in 11 reviews
"bhindi"
in 14 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 9 reviews
"day trip"
in 10 reviews
"great commentary"
in 5 reviews
"goat"
in 5 reviews
"kunekune pigs"
in 4 reviews
"saw seals"
in 4 reviews
"interesting people"
in 4 reviews
"great trip"
in 12 reviews
"mussel farm"
in 14 reviews
"sunny day"
in 5 reviews
"bottle nose dolphins"
in 3 reviews
"knowledgeable commentary"
in 3 reviews
"drop offs"
in 3 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2018

Date of experience: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely day out! The boat was very comfortable, although a hot late March day, it was quite breezy, but fun, on the upper deck. We saw a large pod of dolphins, saw many locals, saw so many interesting places and Bays, and two kunekune pigs for good measure.
The teenagers found the trip, which was the outer sound circuit, a bit too long, but the older folk loved it. Great skippers, very well narrated.
We are kiwis, mostly tourists on the boat, such a shame, as this would appeal to locals too!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank PipL822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

What can I say that probably hasn't been said already. A fantastic day out on the NEW mailboat. A pod of dolphins guided us part of the way which was awesome. Jim and Dee were great "guides" and we had a thoroughly wonderful day exploring the Sounds. Totally recommend.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank NannieTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Joined the trip on a perfect march day - sunny with just a light breeze. Skipper Jim’s intro speech set the tone for the day - personal and extremely friendly. Both he and Bindi know a great deal about the sounds and loved to share their enthusiasm for this beautiful place. For those wanting more, the boat’s little library was perfect, old photos, descriptions etc.
Our trip took us all over the sound. Each mail drop was accompanied by a little tale and little gossip with the residents who were all very happy to see friendly post boat arrive.
Postal deliveries aside, Jim managed to fit in a very informative session on how the mussel farms worked (with models!), a great lunch stop, a sail past some seals and time for a short bush walk for those who wanted it.
Though all this was great enough, it was topped by the visit by a pod of dolphins. They clearly loved playing with the boat just as much as we liked seeing them. They swam around, raced past and generally had a great time - just as we did, and Jim and Bindi too. Such a great sight.
Obviously, weather and wildlife encounters will vary by trip, but whatever you find, this team will make sure you have a great day.
Finally, a word on the new boat ((November 17 I think) – it’s comfortable, has plenty of space both inside and out – perfect for all those great sights

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank W8392NPmartinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelorus Mail Boat also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Pelorus Mail Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing