We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
167
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
167
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carrot cake duncan bay train carriage hot tub packed lunch on arrival water taxi warm welcome self catering hour walk can't wait to go back thank you so much fantastic hosts a wonderful place to stay cup of tea comfortable beds mail boat
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Helen and Art had only recently taken over as the new owners and pulled off their first wedding dinner at the Lodge. We had such an awesome time relaxing at Nydia Bay, the family was very welcoming and really helpful guiding us around the area. Couldn't have asked for better hosts. Thanks to Nick and little Art for helping us not get lost trying to find the waterfall, and to Nick for showing the boys the secret spots to find all the local seafood, it was delicious!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicmcrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We stayed here a night over Easter weekend and loved every second.
From the moment we arrived the staff were so friendly and welcoming, serving us tea and homemade cake before giving us a tour of the facilities.
We were a group of four, two of us shared a train carriage and two of us stayed in the 6-person yurt. Both were nice rooms, reasonable value.
We opted to bring and prepare our own food, but they also offer meals and have a variety of food and drinks available (including beer and wine).
We spent most of our time drinking red wine in the garden and soaking in the hot tub.
A wee treasure, isolated from the rest of the world. Would definitely go again.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaunm541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We traveled on the Pelrous Mail Boat to Nydia Bay, where we spent two nights at the On The Track Lodge, before getting back on the Mail Boat to get back to Havelock. Both experiences rate our highest praise. On The Track Lodge has wonderful facilities in the middle of the Pelorus sound, generating their own electricity, heating their hot water with wood, growing vegetables in their yard and making guests feel special. Helen and Art, while new to the hospitality business, are warm and welcoming. Their collection of animals and pets added a wonderful charm to our stay. However, their four children: Nick, Megan, Emma and Art made our stay memorable. Awesome experience

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 1hebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

What a wonderful place for our family to gather for 3 days....We came from Hawkes Bay, Whangarei, Sydney and Christchurch and all wished we could have stayed longer. Helen, Art and their family were great hosts.. Nothing was any trouble.
The setting was perfect for a wedding and the accommodation excellent.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank mjpauli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

It was a treat staying at the On The Track Lodge! We were welcomed by the oldest son,offered the best carrot cake,baked by the foodie daughter,showed around by Helen,the mother and great conversation with the rest of this interesting family.
We wish them the very best with their venture,they certainly have the enthusiasm!

Room tip: If one is tall,the top room in the chalet might be a bit tricky,because of the low rafters,otherwise the best room in the house!
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kamilariNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews