We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best low cost in Asia”
Review of AirAsia - AirAsia Berhad (Malaysia)


Reviewed 14 March 2017

Every year we choose AK for low cost flights when on holiday in Malaysia. We flown to Singapore, Maldives, Bali, Miri, Kuching, etc. For the last 7 years, we found it to be the cheapest option. Planes are new, clean and we felt safe at every time. Service on board is good and the snack selection is quite nice. You can go for cold or hot meals, which is not available on all the low cost airlines around the world.

Date of travel: September 2016
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Alex I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,418 of 2,543 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Unfortunately AirAsia Malaysia boasts with delays on there flights. Unlike the THAI AirAsia that is on time now after having the same problems in the beginning years of operation. AirAsia seems not to be able to handle the time schedule and worse they tend to change the departure gates frequently. So if you are not aware all the time before departing you might miss the flight or running around from gate to gate. this happened last week with my 2 flights from Phuket to KL and KL to Bangkok. I will take Malaysian Airlines the next time as they offer even cheaper flights as AirAsia. AirAsia Malaysia is really a low service airline, overpriced for a so called low cost.
Flights were ok as the planes are in good conditions nothing to say on that point.

Date of travel: March 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Christophe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

This was the second leg of my journey from MEL - HCM after a decent break in KLIA2 transit.
As usual there were long walks at the airport between arrival and departure gates, and the "double" security check... one, on entry to the transit area, and again before reaching the departure gate. But I have done this many times before so was more than ready.
What I was not ready for was the amount of carry-on luggage brought onto the flight!
I have never seen the likes before.
The flight from KL - HCM was busy so the overhead stowage was absolutely crammed full and crushed as a result.
Why does Air Asia allow this?
There are limits to size, weight and no of articles but these are obviously ignored.
Other than this the flight was ok.

Date of travel: January 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Nostratamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

While there are plenty a small discount airlines in Asia that offer terrible service, AirAsia is the biggest. They are as bad as a US airline and possibly worse. The boarding process would be comical if you are not a part of it.

Date of travel: February 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank NYCBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

it doesn't matter how many times i have flown with air asia, there always has been one or more problems.

Date of travel: March 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC