We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airlines”
Review of Southwest Airlines


Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

We mostly use Southwest due to the points that my wife and I have. Most flights are on time but as with all the other airlines they can have delays and/or cancellations. We travel with a motorized wheelchair for my wife, we’ve had no problems until this last flight. When we arrived at Fort Myers her chair was totally damaged (it’s value is over $2300.) The airlines took responsibility for the damage since it was inspected in Philadelphia by one of their staff. We are thankful that they have replaced it with a new one and have provided my wife with a loaner until her new chair arrives. Overall I like Southwest.

Date of travel: November 2019
2  Thank Francis X R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (45,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,124 - 4,128 of 45,719 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2019

We frequently fly Southwest for our family travel and always feel the flight is a good value. One of the big pluses is the two bags fly free, this saves us $50-70 each leg. Lots of people feel the no assigned seating is bad but most of the time we are able to select good seats that are not at the back of the plane or even single center seats. We also find that SWA flight attendants are friendlier than most other airlines, on average.

Date of travel: November 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2019

Bag drop was uneventful, going through security pretty smooth, over all airport was good. Boarding flight smooth, drinks & snack fine, waiting on bags always a slight delay. Traveling during high season ok

Date of travel: November 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank GayleP866
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2019

As usual the flight to and from Boston was very good. No delays. Early flights so almost every one was asleep. Can't say any more than service was very good.

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2019

I always fly Southwest. I only wish I could upgrade to a first class situation. For my leg room. I enjoy the rewards program and how there are no black out periods.

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank ginahise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.