We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard flight”
Review of Ryanair


Reviewed 10 December 2018

You get what you pay for, or i guess, in this case what you add on.... As their model is based on "Affordable" prices they need to close the gap on profitability via additional costs on services, such as food, drinks, priority queue's and their favorite raffles in flight. Be aware, the "Priority" queue is not priority anymore, if you want to carry your hand luggage onto the plane you need priority queue, even then, it's not guaranteed to be allowed with you due to limited space.

Date of travel: April 2018
1  Thank IrishOleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,238 of 57,920 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2018

This is not a joke. Probably as close to crashing as you could get without a tragedy occurring. A very young and probably rather inexperienced pilot flew us into Arrecife and after a rather uneventful flight but a 'shaky' approach, pulled up at the last minute and roared upwards into the sky again. As he flew back around again he apologised for the last minute abort but said 'he'd be confident of a succesful approach on my next attempt' Shortly after this he came in almost parralel and very low to the sea, something that alarmed me straight away, and then without warning the plane literally dropped onto the runway with an almighty 'bang' and bounced uncontrollably before regaining control. Baggage lockers flew open, passengers were screaming and crying and the attendants were visibly alarmed and shaken. We were then ushered off quickly without further explanation. We were just glad to be down safely!! Following many emails without reply, to Ryanair asking for an explanation, we finally gave up and felt that the company just covered up the incident. Upon our return to fly home (we then had a 36 hour delay but that's another story with shocking service again from Ryanair) we were told the plane we originally 'crash-landed' on was still on the runway and was apparently damaged in the incident. We have vowed never to use this 10th rate airline ever again no matter how cheap they purport to be.

Date of travel: February 2018
1  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

Quite a reasonable flight this time, not too big a delay setting off though still the same aircraft so still the same terribly uncomfortable seats despite the fact we always book the first two seats on the plane (and most expensive) with extra legroom.

Cabin staff were great both outbound and on our return.

Really object to having to pay in euros, despite departing from GBP England and going to Kroner Sweden, this means that in addition to the ridiculously high prices for food and drink on board I also have to pay additional bank charges for paying in euros, no doubt because Ryanair banking is in euro Ireland, surely it is illegal to force you into using a foreign currency when your not travelling from or to a euro based Country ? duty free goods on board are no longer the bargain they used to be since the EU took charge of how much we have to pay but now they are dearer because of bank charges.

The return flight took off on time and again the cabin crew were great, the Pilot even took the time to give us a little added information, common on many airlines but rarely achieved with Ryanair flights so this was a good thing.

We have always paid for the extras and had priority boarding but this has become a joke now since almost everyone is priority buying the cheaper seats so they can take their luggage on board with them.

But, I have to say this was one of the better of our many journeys with Ryanair. Let's just hope that tomorrows flights with Ryanair go as well or better :)

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank JednSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

We had return flights to Krakow, Poland. The outbound flight started with priority passengers being allowed through check in and then standing in a tunnel for nearly 45 minutes without being told that the plane hadn't arrived yet. The return flight was uncomfortable due to the flight crew constantly banging into me as they passed up and down the aisle - I was within my seat area but they still managed to hit me each time, maybe the isle wasn't wide enough!
The new bag policy is clearly confusing some people. Some in non priority were allowed to take 10kg bags on board while others had them taken away and had to pay - need to be consistent with this policy.
The seating is hard but the leg room was ok to be fair, not to bad for a short flight.
I try to avoid Ryan Air but sometimes you have to make do and accept you don't get any thrills.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Andydjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

Stay well, well clear of this organisation. They are utterly appallingly. We and our friends booked five months in advance to Bologna Italy. A week or so after booking, and paying for everything we had to change our plans by one week due to school holidays. We spoke to Ryanair’s so called customer service team. We accepted that some sort of admin fee would be applicable, oh no, not even close! To change the flights they wanted more per person than the cost of the original flights including the luggage. No explanation other than “read the small print”. We have had to rebook and play for 4 more flights a week later. This company are the lowest of the lows, their customer service is frankly a joke - a complete mirror image of their CEO. Pay a few quid more and go with a company that cares about the customers. We have to vote with our feet and put these shytsters out of business.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank dt191266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC