We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best”
Review of Qatar Airways


Reviewed 20 August 2021

This is our second time with them, first time being 8 years ago to Kuala Lumpur and Singapore.
This time, we flew Qatar Airways Bucharest to New York JFK and return. I know it sounds strange, but due to the COVID entry restrictions in the US, we only had 2 choices that didn’t transit Schengen Area, the other one being Turkish. But the same ticket on Turkish was around 700-800 EUR more expensive…
A320 on short segments Bucharest to Doha, B777 on Doha to New York, A350 on New York to Doha. Excellent service on board, excellent food, comfy seats, excellent entertainment system. BTW, if you have the chance to fly A350, take it, the plane is incredible.
Did not have any problems boarding in Bucharest or New York, they just checked the entry requirements at final destinations against our documents. So do your homework. As they told me on the phone twice, they don’t have supplementary requirements to board the plane.
In fact, everything was so good and I am so impressed with these flights that, after all the COVID restrictions will be lifted, I will seriously consider Qatar Airways instead of a Western carrier. Even if the flight from Doha to an US destination itself is longer than the entire trip from Bucharest to that destination.

Date of travel: August 2021
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank catalin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (36,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,923 - 3,927 of 36,213 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2021

You are one of the worst airline my mom's ever been to and she has been everywhere . 1st off you did not let her get on plane because she did not fill a application are you unhuman why does she even need to fill it if it's a escale she had a 1hour layover to get to montreal and filled up the montreal application and showed it to you she was not even staying in qatar for a day u made her miss her flight not only that you wanted her to paye a new ticket listen you wanna play dirty games with your customer you get a dirty review because you make rules that no country does a passenger that is on a layover does not need to fill your form specially that she is canadian and vaccinated you are very unethical airline and do not care about your customers she was not staying in qatar i repeat she had a layover people do not book with this airline unless you wanna miss your flight .
I came back recently from beirut and layover frankfurt and did not have to download a app for layover not only that you guys didn't even mail it to her email so please do yourselves a favor and book with any other airline do not trust qatar airways and there exageration

Date of travel: August 2021
Thank chadeeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2021

Qatar airways has been on top of their game for quite a while and it's easy to see why. From the time of initial booking, price and flight option to the extras provided.
In Doha the safety precautions are carefully monitored with safety distancing.. chairs being marked that were blocked for seating and absolute cleanliness of the airport and pristine care of restroo.s and waiting areas.
JFK Airport on the other hand had no such high standards in sight.some shops were closed but that was the extent.. oh and the revolving plastic on toilet seats.
Qatar airways have comfortable seating options and they attempted spacing and distancing withing flights depending on the flight booking. The staff were courteous, professional and wearing protective gear throughout and always available with a smile and ready to assist.
It was nothing but pleasurable to enter the plain, be seated and fly in comfort with excellent 5 star hot meal and beverages selection and enjoy a smooth flight.
Qatar and Qatar Airways can be proud. Many people were in transit and HIA made sure that this was also an effortless process and experience.
You cannot go wrong by choosing this airline where high standards and exceptional service prevail. Job well done.
Thank you.

Date of travel: August 2021
Thank 945ilsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2021

SHAMEFUL!!
The worst experience ever!!!
Our flight had to return to Malé after half an hour in the air (about 11pm). Technical issues they said. Every time going boarding and back we had to do the passport and security check!!! Every time, but we were only in the bus / airplane or boarding area - what a joke! Then we had to sleep at the airport on the ground or chairs because it was impossible to find a hotel for Qatar Airways - what we think was just laziness. Nobody from Qatar Airways was there to inform us. 9 am they wanted to board again but boarding was delayed again because the airplane could not be fixed - we started to get scared. They told us about an hour later that we can board now because they had a 2nd airplane. Boarding started and the first group was already in the plane, we were waiting in the bus. The bus went back to the airport. Technical issues with the second plane - would we ever go home? They told us that they have a 3rd plane - Malé airport isn't that big and we never saw 3 planes - only 2. However finally we boarded and we went to Doha where they promised that they had organised everything (they had 20 hours time). In Doha they told us that their hotels are closed for a year now and that we have to sleep at the airport again. What a five star airline! They could have organised field beds since this goes on for a year, they could have reserved a quiet room, so that we would not have to look for a place. Then we got a meal voucher for 3 meals they told us - we had fast food rice and it was not enough for one meal!!!!! And a voucher for their gift shop -.-
When we got home we wrote Qatar Airways that we would like to get a refund, they apologized and we got nothing!!!! NOTHING! HORRIBLE!
Last time my flight was delayed with Carribean Airlines (3 stars!) I got a hotel room, a voucher for a multiple course menu in a restaurant, a voucher for the airport and 200 Dollars on our next flight - the flight was only 3 hours delayed and we got information every time! And a five star airline isn't able to do so as well - WHAT A SHAME!!

Date of travel: August 2021
1  Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

This airline is the BEST in the whole world! I flight Every 3 monhts in a year from amsterdam to Colombo and I have lot of experience with other airlines but this one is the best!
The stewardess en stewards are the most sweet people! They do everything for you on your trip! They always friendly and always smile. Qatar is always on time, never delays. The Seats are comfortable and the food and drinks are lovely on board. Also the entertainment is great, enough movies or games or music to choice. Book your flight directly by the Qatar airways site, you recieve your ticket in your email after 30 seconds.I never go with other airlines anymore, Qatar stole my heart!
Love Priyanka

Date of travel: July 2021
Thank priyankab169
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.