We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of MIAT Mongolian Airlines


Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Round trip Beijing - Ulan Bataar. Non-descript average airline in terms of service and friendliness. Return flight was delayed 3 hours but there may have been good reason. We didn't understand the announcements. Chinggis Khan International Airport is small and dated with limited food options so it was not an ideal place to hang out for three hours.

Date of travel: August 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank carlc256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2018

My daughter and I had booked a long trip from New Delhi to Ulaanbaatar, via Hong Kong, an a 12 hour layover became a 24 hour layover. While the first leg of the flight till HK is a code share flight and operated by Cathay Pacific, the second leg was operated by MIAT. Although the airlines handled it relatively well and took good care of us, the lack of information was both puzzling and disturbing. We never got to know what caused the inordinate delay. However, we were happy that the baggage that was parked at HK airport for 24 hours came through safely.
Food is decent but nowhere near the quality offered by other major airlines. There is no personal on-board entertainment. The aircraft are well-maintained and the pilots are always competent.
We have no real issues on this route other than cost of their flights. MIAT is the state-owned airline and has a kind of monopoly among airlines operating in/via Mongolia. Airlines that offer cheaper tickets are not allowed to operate in Mongolia, so air fares of flights into and out of Mongolia are considerably expensive.

Date of travel: August 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank transkript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Mongolian Airlines (MIAT) often gets somewhat of a bad reputation. It's true that it is a low budget carrier, that means you don't have a lot of extras on the flight, but I found it friendly, well organised, and good value. This seating was a little bit uncomfortable because there was very little space, but the food was good. People at check-in and also inside the plane were friendly and professional.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
1  Thank bluehorizons2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Stuff's are very helpful and kind food quality is quite high. One of my favorite airline. Pilots are very experienced. Always feel safe.Thankyou so much Miat.

Date of travel: June 2018
Thank NaraaN6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

The plane was a 737-800, in good condition. Seats were comfortable. Staff were very friendly and polite. They served a good meal. Before landing they served a pizza that was very good.
Baggage upon arrival arrived fast.
I would highly recommend the airline.

Date of travel: August 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
1  Thank wolf3728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC