We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost! Flights get delayed and cancelled without any reason.”
Review of MIAT Mongolian Airlines


Reviewed 16 October 2017

Flight Beijing to UB got cancelled/delayed to the evening flight. Return flight UB to HK got boarded on time, but then we had to un-board for no apparent reason. Arrived in HK with a three hours delay. Missed connecting flight, had to wait till next day... got offered coupons for lunch-dinner-breakfast of respectively 75/75/40 hong-kong dollars, and a night at the Novotel. Lunch costed 180 HKdollar for a simple beef/rice/softdrink menu. 40 HKdollar for breakfast is sufficient for a cup of coffee. What was really bad is that MIAT tried to ***BRIBE*** me to pay a penalty for the change-costs to catch the next day's flight! Luckily the next flight operator was KLM who intervened. MIAT paid all costs till the last penny...

Date of travel: October 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Akxsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

I caught a very early morning departure but it is was nice to stroll around Duty Free before departing Ulaan Bataar. MIAT crew were friendly, informant and professional and I would definitely fly with them again if I needed to. The on-board food was fantastic.

Date of travel: November 2016
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank 470trevorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

The process of going through customs at Ghengis Khan International is quite easy and the one gate was orderly. People weren’t pushing and shoving. This time, we had a newer airplane but unfortunately that meant there was less leg room. The positive was the in-flight entertainment. For such negative reviews, MIAT isn’t that bad at all.

Date of travel: October 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I read the reviews and wasn’t looking forward to my flight to Mongolia aboard MIAT. However, the flight wasn’t bad at all. It was a short 2 hour and 15 minute flight but I was given a drink, a snack and a meal. The meal wasn’t very delicious at all but it wasn’t horrible. The surprising thing was how much room I actually had aboard this older model airplane. Usually in the modern airplanes, I’m crammed in, but I had plenty of leg space and the stow away room was roomy. The flight attendants were nice and we had an enjoyable flight. The one drawback was the lack of in-flight entertainment.

Date of travel: October 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This flight was surprisingly comfortable. Even in economy class, the chairs were comfortable, the leg room was a lot, and the food they serve was actually quite good. The flight attendants are actually attentive, and provide good customer service. Ground check in was efficient as well.

Date of travel: September 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank gillurien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC