We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap. But lots of delays.”
Review of Lion Air


Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lion Air is severely known for its flight delays and other scandals. I took this flight because other airlines cost 4 times than Lion Air for this destination. Had two times delay, on the first flight and then the transit. Lion Air sometimes will change their gate without telling beforehand so be proactive to ask the employees if the gate is still here or already moved whenever it's close to boarding time.

Date of travel: July 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank CalistaZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,707 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The international flight from Bangkok to Kathmandu on the Thai subsidiary of Lion Air is now a competitor to Thai Airways for a direct flight. The cost is considerably less. The aircraft is a 737-900ER; the first order for this plane to Boeing was from Lion Air. With 215 seats, the airplane is crammed to capacity. Space between seats was about 9 in (22 cm), allowing very little leg movement. The flight is 3 hours, so some discomfort can be tolerated. Checked luggage allowance is 20 kg free.
U.S. credit cards are not accepted, and since I was booking outside of Thailand, I had to use an agent and pay fees.
Food can be pre-ordered, which I did and should not have. Quality was poor and food can be purchased onboard, or else bring some food from the airport.
I later noticed that Lion Air offers package deals which includes a nice hotel in Kathmandu, and that can offer additional savings.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank VineNFigTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wish i will not be take the same airlines again for further. It has lots of matters. About price definitely is the cheapest but also following with the quality and control.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank IwanYoelianto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wrote last year, September - regarding Lion Air and CITILINK (both airlines are connected)-
"The gate was open and passengers were still boarding But LION AIR would not let me board. They insisted I buy a new ticket for the next flight.
Most of the Surabaya staff couldn't speak much English. NEVER use this airline.!"

I hope some travellers took my advice. The recent airline tragedy is not a surprise to me, because with them, the customer DOES NOT come first.I missed my connecting flights because of them

Date of travel: December 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

well when i arrived at the airport i look at departure screen my flight was not there & all other lion air cancelled ... the attendant told me no problem the airport is small only 2 domestik doors , flight was delayed a bit but was smooth & we arrived safely

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank pierre m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC