We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to fly direct - not the best ground service”
Review of KLM Royal Dutch Airlines


Reviewed 8 December 2018

I've chosen KLM for their direct route from Singapore to Amsterdam and their good reputation.

Check-in in Singapore was fast, quick and easy, but NOT friendly. That's really a shame.

Who positively stand out for me was the lady who was reminding everyone to get their passports and boarding passes ready just before going through security and entering the plane (security is directly at the gate). She was amazing, great spirit, energy and full of positivity!

I was seated at the window which has both advantages and disadvantages. I was sitting next to an older couple and always had to climb above the middle person when I needed to get up. Quite literally climbing as there isn't much space. Thankfully (or not) I have long legs and am flexible.

The stewards and stewardesses were nice but didn't seem to be overly excited. I've experienced better vibes and service on a plane.

I appreciated that they filled my refillable bottle with water. Also, I feel such behavior should be encouraged on planes. Way too much waste!

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 757 of 23,439 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2018

A good service airline. Good flight routing and availability of flights around the world.
Very friendly service at check-in on San Francisco's ground.
As an exchange platform Amsterdam is suitable for further connections.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank pmh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018

Not the first time I'm using KLM on a short trip in Europe. Surprising how they manage to fill a plane about twice as fast as US arlines do.
Despite a short trip, they provided food for free. Very good cake, and beverages. Coffee was pretty good. Service, as usual, was very good.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018

Expected better experience. I flew KLM in Europe a lot, on short trips, and usually it was a good experience. Transatlantic, not so much. Expected a lot from Boing 787 Dreamliner plane, but my butt didn't like it. Seats are hard like a rock. Of course, seating 3-3-3 is not as convenient as 2-4-2 I'm used to on Airbus 330. And coffee. In Europe, KLM serves very good coffee. But on this flight... Let's say, even in US, McDonalds makes it better. Food was OK, except for the last snack. It was supposed to be pizza bread, it was a slab of some bread with melted cheese.
On a good side: main food was OK, crew was attentive and available all the time, entertainment system is the best I've ever seen on the plant.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

Always enjoy my flights with KLM. It costs a bit more, but the quality is great. Easy online check-in, fast self luggage check in, but a little delayed with boarding because of the cleaning.

Staff on the plane were very sweet and handed out complimentary sandwich, water, a small syrup waffle and choice of beer, wine, soft drinks and hot drinks. Seat are very fine and leg space is alright.

Flight was very smooth, including take if and landing. Suitcases arrived very fast which was perfect to make up for lost time.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank s0rayaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC