We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good service airline. Good flight routing and availability of flights around the world.”
Review of KLM Royal Dutch Airlines


Reviewed 8 December 2018

A good service airline. Good flight routing and availability of flights around the world.
Very friendly service at check-in on San Francisco's ground.
As an exchange platform Amsterdam is suitable for further connections.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank pmh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 758 of 23,439 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2018

Not the first time I'm using KLM on a short trip in Europe. Surprising how they manage to fill a plane about twice as fast as US arlines do.
Despite a short trip, they provided food for free. Very good cake, and beverages. Coffee was pretty good. Service, as usual, was very good.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018

Expected better experience. I flew KLM in Europe a lot, on short trips, and usually it was a good experience. Transatlantic, not so much. Expected a lot from Boing 787 Dreamliner plane, but my butt didn't like it. Seats are hard like a rock. Of course, seating 3-3-3 is not as convenient as 2-4-2 I'm used to on Airbus 330. And coffee. In Europe, KLM serves very good coffee. But on this flight... Let's say, even in US, McDonalds makes it better. Food was OK, except for the last snack. It was supposed to be pizza bread, it was a slab of some bread with melted cheese.
On a good side: main food was OK, crew was attentive and available all the time, entertainment system is the best I've ever seen on the plant.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

Always enjoy my flights with KLM. It costs a bit more, but the quality is great. Easy online check-in, fast self luggage check in, but a little delayed with boarding because of the cleaning.

Staff on the plane were very sweet and handed out complimentary sandwich, water, a small syrup waffle and choice of beer, wine, soft drinks and hot drinks. Seat are very fine and leg space is alright.

Flight was very smooth, including take if and landing. Suitcases arrived very fast which was perfect to make up for lost time.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank s0rayaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

The flight from with Santiago de Chile to Düsseldorf hat two stop overs including São Paulo and Amsterdam. The first flight was outsourced and operated by GOL airline, although we booked it on KLM.com. Due to the GOL flight we could not check in online for the entire journey. I tried to contact KLM customer service, but it was hard to reach them and they also could not help. I tried their WhatsApp so called “live service” and had to wait 7 hours for a reply, which didn’t even help. Without the online check in we could not choose seats and vegetarian meals for all three flights between Santiago and Düsseldorf. On all three flights we couldn’t get vegetarian meals. They said we would need to choose it beforehand during online check in and ignored our explanation. Furthermore the GOL flight was very uncomfortable with little leg space and without entertainment. Not great for a 4 hours international flight. They put us in the last row, although they knew that we had little time window to catch our connection flight in São Paulo. In the end the flight was delayed and we had to run in São Paulo to get our connection. No help from the GOL crew at all. When we finally arrived home in Düsseldorf our luggage was not there, which we claimed (together with around 10 other people). The guy from the luggage transfer desk explained us that our bags we already checked in the wrong itinerary order in Santiago and could never arrive in Düsseldorf. They were tagged SCL-AMS-GRU-DUS instead of SCL-GRU-AMS-DUS. (GRU = São Paulo) We were really annoyed and had to wait 4 days until we got our luggage. I will not fly KLM again on intercontinental flights including connections and can not recommend it.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank Mitch T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC