We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth Process, Good Flight”
Review of EVA Air


Reviewed 7 January 2021

Key Things to Remember before you fly: Fill out online quarantine declaration form within 48 hours prior to arrival time and get the screen shot confirmation needed for entry. You will need it at the check in counter. You will also need to print and sign the EVA Airways health declaration form ( fill it out before going to the airport, print it out, and bring it with you). These two steps will save some time and hassle during the check in process.
If you have both Taiwan and US passport, you need to give them both passports since they will make sure the US passport has the departure record and they will advise you to present the US passport at security check point. Also, show your TSA Pre-Check card if you have that at check in. Most importantly , Taiwan requires a negative RT-PCR test if you hold Taiwan passport to enter Taiwan(12/1/20-2/28/21). My check in process was very smooth. Different staff will walk to each one in line to make sure if you have completed the quarantine form online and health declaration form to each traveler. They also check your temperature before you are helped at the counter.

This flight was the Hello Kitty jet which is a pleasant surprise, but it’s just the painting outside. There is no Hello Kitty décor inside like they used to do. One pack of alcoholic wipes(total two wipes)was given to each passenger. Dinner was served within one hour after take-off. My vegetarian meal was good with “meat balls” made of tofu and green peas. Appetizer was cold Asian black wood ear and white wood ear salad with lotus seeds. Dessert was my favorite and that was red bean with sweet potato and lotus seeds. I was surprised that I like this combination. Restroom was a bit small compared to China Airlines. Leg room was bigger and seats were wider. Storage underneath the seat is smaller. Boarding was easy and fast since the plane was less than 50% full. The seating restrictions was very tight since flight attendants kept asking passengers do not switch seats. Breakfast was served around 2 hours before arrival. My vegetarian breakfast meal was congee with green beans, carrots, tofu skin and appetizer, which was “3 cup chicken flavor” but was oyster mushroom. Those were delicious. Coffee was okay. A very relaxing flight and smooth landing, overall.

Tips before departure :
*RT-PCR test based on result date within 3 days prior to departure date
*Since free tests around LA area and suburban areas are all back logged by at least 5 to 10 days, don’t schedule one of those right before flight . I would recommend getting the free test before booking tickets to be sure , or much later if you have an idea of your departure date. The final PCR test should be a paid test at a clinic or lab providing results within 1 day
*I used “covid-19 clinic” in Temecula for a travel use certificate at a cost $475 and knew the result in 3 hours. They have 5 other locations. I went there twice due to the timing and demand 3 days before Christmas. It was a 4 hour wait in the drive through and they did the wrong Covid test on me which not qualify for EVA requirements. I went the next day in early morning and it took only 30 minutes total to finish the proper test.
*EVA Covid test requirements: must include name, date of birth, covid -19, RT-PCR test type, result date, and Negative result . You can use your phone but much better to show the printout
*If you have Curative test center ( many locations ) nearby that’s free and it qualifies EVA requirement, you may us that , but it might be too hard to schedule and long time to get the result for the time in holiday season and before your flight.

Date of travel: December 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank MandC0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 6,839 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2020

Eva airlines in Seattle is unprofessional and lie... none of them really know wtf they are doing beside lie

Date of travel: November 2020
Thank zeror97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2020

My flight was cancelled. I received an email with a link to a refund page that was always under construction. Calls to Bangkok (my ultimate destination) and the USA hot line were no help - always you must use the non-functioning website. Even after I explained that I had already tried the web site.

Date of travel: September 2020
    • Customer service
1  Thank norm08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2020

Clean, friendly, lots of room for economy, good food...best flight ever! A completely different experience than flying an american courier.

Date of travel: November 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Danno1_toledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2020

I just talked to a customer service in LA for changing my flight schedule. She was so professional, very calm, good understanding of my family situation, national disaster.. Thank you so much Lynn.
I didn’t have good experience from JFK airport people.. but customer service is 10/10
I would recommend to use this company!!

Date of travel: September 2020
1  Thank 432nanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.