We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience”
Review of Etihad Airways


Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Worst attitude ever. First time flying thru Abudhabi from JFK,made a mistake should have just taken Emirates .Food was bad,service was Lowsy arrogant flight crew
Never again

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Ramanathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (19,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 19,063 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I submitted feedback and claimed hotel and transportation I used because of a missed connection all thanks to their late flights. Its been a month I haven't heard back from them.
Unhelping ground staff, rude crew, and pathetic customer care. Avoid traveling

Date of travel: April 2024
Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I flew the business class service was good.
Until I got my bags totally damaged . I have expensive durable Tumi baggage .
The bags were cracked and not reusable.
I called the airline and file the claim first they pretend that they will review the claim and I get reimbursed. Now it’s been 90 days and they stop responding to my emails. Please don’t use this airline for your travel. My trust was lost for that company .

Date of travel: February 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Marianna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were called to board our flight from Johannesburg to Phuket via Abu Dhabi close to the boarding time on our boarding passes. Departure time was scheduled for 09.55am After boarding the captain made an announcement that there would be a 15 min delay. No exact reason given.

30 minutes passed and we were still at the gates, no information provided as to why. 1 hour after we were scheduled to depart the captain again made an announcement that there would be a further delay. The PA system was very inaudible and together with the language barrier, one couldn't understand what was being said. The flight attendants couldn't give an update either.

1 and a half hours later and we were still at the gates, no information provided, we were just given dry crackers and a cup of juice. 2 hours passed and again nothing from the captain. Passengers were clearly starting to get frustrated by now and the flight attendants were just standing around as they too were none the wiser as to what was going on.

Finally, after sitting for 3 hours in a cramped seat, without any announcement from the captain, they pushed back and we departed. We had a 2 hour connection in Abu Dhabi for our ongoing flight to Phuket.

When we landed in Abu Dhabi, we were ushered to a makeshift desk where Etihad employees were standing and just casually told us that we would fly out the next morning and handed us our boarding passes with 2 very cheap meal vouchers.

It was close to midnight in Abu Dhabi and we were now stuck in a strange airport not knowing where to go or what to do. We wandered around and finally accepted our fate and bunkered down on very uncomfortable airport chairs for the night and freezing cold with 8 hours until our flight.

My partner started feeling unwell from the cold but there was nothing i could do to help her. Both of us didn't sleep for 5 minutes the entire 8 hours and eventually we just gave up and sat around.

We were exhausted, hungry, dirty and extremely frustrated when we boarded our flight to Phuket and having to endure another 6 hour journey was the straw that broke the camel's back.

Eventually we landed in Phuket and when we collected our luggage I found that my bag was damaged and my straps that I secured around the bag, gone. I was just too tired to care and carried on to our hotel to get some sleep.

The next day i wrote an email to Etihad guest services and received a generic computer generated response that read like a bad novel. They acknowledged my message but unfortunately they're "inundated" with messages currently and they'll get back to me within 28 days if they deem my email to be "important" enough, if not, they thanked me for my feedback blah blah blah!!! I nearly vomited in my mouth after reading their response.

I had such high hopes going into this trip as Etihad is one of the biggest airlines in the middle east and the world but sadly i was let down badly by this experience. Sad though is that i have to fly back home with them :(

Date of travel: May 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank ChristopherS5299
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently flew from Abu Dhabi to Zurich (one way ticket) and regularly fly with Etihad so I am a platinum guest member. I had originally booked an economy ticket and prior to my flight I paid in cash (no miles) for an upgraded business class ticket. I upgraded the full one way ticket that was purchased.

At check in I was surprised and disappointed to be confronted with additional fees for baggage. As I did not originally purchase a business ticket, rather I paid for an upgrade, I was told I was not eligible to the baggage allowance of a business class guest. Therefore I had to pay a thousand additional dirhams for additional luggage. Astounding. Etihad used to be an outstanding airline, from the courtesy shown by employees, to the service onboard and now it does not think about the comfort of their guest. When boarding the plane, via a bus and staircase, as well as being 30weeks pregnant and traveling alone, no Etihad member offered to help me. Instead another passenger very kindly helped stow my hand luggage on board.

After contacting Etihad Guest, via email and many social network channels, regarding paying the additional fee for baggage, I was again informed, as it was an upgraded tickets, you are not entitled to the business class luggage allowance which I find baffling. Heads up people, you no longer get the perks of a business class ticket if you upgrade.

Date of travel: June 2023
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank rebeccahunt2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.