We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etihad ignores refund case and owes me money!”
Review of Etihad Airways


Reviewed 15 April 2024

Etihad ignores my refund case since December 2023 (CRM:01353927122).

In December 2023, I booked a flight with Etihad Airways from Abu Dhabi (AUH) to Manila (MNL), with the original aircraft designated as a 777-300ER. My booking included pre-purchased seat reservations to ensure my travel companion and I could sit together. Unexpectedly, Etihad changed the aircraft to a 781 model, disrupting the seat layout and separating our reserved seats from 51H+51K to 48G+48K, which were not adjacent.

Despite this inconvenience, we were compelled to reserve new seats during check-in, incurring an additional expense. We paid 490 SEK to secure adjacent seats again due to the aircraft swap. I have contacted Etihad requesting a refund for the initial seat reservation cost since the seats we paid for were rendered useless by their changes. However, as of now, there has been no resolution or refund issued.

The lack of communication and resolution from Etihad Airways is disheartening. If this issue is not addressed promptly, I will be considering further actions, including reaching out to the ombudsman service and possibly pursuing legal remedies. I hope Etihad recognizes the inconvenience caused and rectifies this issue soon.

Date of travel: November 2023
Thank 248anonymous2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

We are sorry to hear about what happened. Please feel free to reach us via DM on any of our Social Media channels (Facebook, Twitter and Instagram) and we'll be happy to assist. *Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (19,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 147 of 19,063 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2024

Inflight service and good was excellent but as soon as you have to deal with customer service it goes downhill. They employ untrained people who neither have an understanding of the product they are representing nor can they help you. None of them is authorized to do anything so it’s in their interest to shut you down

Date of travel: December 2023
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Indira N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2024

Hi there, that doesn't sound ideal. Please do raise this via: http://bit.ly/EYFeedback, and our Guest Relations team will look into this further for you. Thanks. *Zia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2024

Worst service so far ....used Etihad for around trip.....will never use it again

Faced many issues got very poor service even paid extra $$$$

Date of travel: March 2024
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2024

Hi there, we're sorry to hear that. Please reach out to us via our social media channels (Twitter, Instagram or Facebook), or file an official case through our feedback form: http://bit.ly/EYFeedback, and our team will look into this further for you. Thanks. *Zia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2024

We traveled with Etihad first time immediately after we traveled from Chicago in Emirates. Bad move!! We traveled with family of 3 including a kid 10 yrs old. He was hungry most of the times in flight as they don't have a service of offering kids first. First time, they said the kids meal is there at the back of flights and he was served with substitute (couple of things that he didn't like). Second time, he was denied too but we had to request more to get his kids meal. We saw this in Emirates where kids are attends first. When we asked for anything, we were shown an emotionless face from the cabin crew. No empathy towards customers, no connection at all. Toilets were not clean and were attended to after a long time. Food was below average. Overall absolutely waste of money!! They need to learn from other airlines. It's not a journey, but an experience for a customer and it should be met with lots of smiles and excellent service. Emirates even clicked photos with with son and gave us the same instantly, offered kids their food first before starting with others, bathrooms had lots of amenities like moisturizers, wet towels, sanitizer gels that opens (unlike Etihad that never opened). Will not fly Etihad again unless it's the last one left on the list.

Date of travel: April 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Surjeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2024

Hi Surjeet. That doesn't sound ideal as the comfort of our guests is our number one priority, especially the little ones. Please do fill our feedback form via: https://www.etihad.com/en-us/help/feedback and click on 'share feedback', so our Guest Relations team can look into the matter and thoroughly investigate this further for you. Thanks. *Zia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2024

We (family of 4) recently flew from Dublin to Thailand with Etihad. We were surprised that we had to pay extra for seats - I didn’t classify Etihad as a low-cost airline. While this may not be the case, it definitely has traits resembling one.

The flights themselves were reasonable enough. We were seated at the back of the plane as we didn’t pay extra for seats. The in-flight entertainment was adequate. The food was so-so, but then again, it’s rarely a source of compliment these days. The new airport terminal in Abu Dhabi is fantastic however.

I found it strange that they insist on serving two 'meals' on 7-hour flights, especially the overnight ones. For example, the flight from Abu Dhabi to Dublin left at 2:20am [local time] and arrived in Dublin at 7:50 [local time]. For some strange reason they insisted on keeping the lights on in the cabin to serve a pasty of some sort, and then 2.5 hours before landing turned them back on to serve more food. I would have expected that every effort would have been made to accommodate the maximum level of sleep on a flight over those hours, when in fact the opposite appeared to be the case.

And to conclude matters, my suitcase was damaged on the return flight (photo attached). I filed the report and went through the dispute process. They determined that the suitcase only suffered a 'minor dent' and therefore no compensation of any sort was available. I requested how this determination was made, what the escalation/appeal process was etc, and I just had the same answers repeated over and over again to me (the damage is considered minor so no compensation on offer). This is where Etihad appears to have taken its lessons from the low-cost airlines - frustrating to deal with, no ability to consider another’s viewpoint and once their decision is made there is no changing it.

Based on my experience, Etihad is an average airline with a decent network across Europe and Asia. However, their customer service is disappointing and it shows serious traits of the low-cost airline industry - paying extra for seats, poor customer service, terrible when something goes wrong etc. Honestly, I would be slow to fly them again, and slow to recommend them to a friend or family member.

Date of travel: March 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Etihadairways, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we wish your experience could have been better. Please share all the details of your experience with our Guest Relations Team via our online feedback form as we are constantly striving to improve our service and product for a better guest experience. *Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.