We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Etihad Airways


Reviewed 22 September 2018

First time with airline, had to queue to check in. The service of checking was very slow. The meals were disappointing. We were made to be rushed on the plane even though there was another 50 mins to take off.

Date of travel: September 2018
Thank Coventry12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hello, thank you for your review. We appreciate you took your time writing about your experience with us. We value your insights and need those to improve our service. Thank you. *Isi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 566 of 11,679 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018

Flew from SE Asia to Jordan, transiting in Abu Dhabi, and then flew back to SE Asia from Egypt, again transiting through Abu Dhabi. The plane on both flights was considerably hotter than most long distance flights. Not one or two degrees Celsius, I would say almost 6 degrees hotter. As far as the flight, it went fine and our baggage arrived fine. The inflight entertainment had fewer choices than flying US to Europe or Asia to the US but was fine. Food on the night flight was minimal...there was one meal when we boarded around midnight and about 4 hours later a hotpocket (like those $1.50 meals from 7-11) and then we landed. For our next long distance flight we skipped Etihad and booked Japan Airlines. It was more inline with traditional air travel. On the way there there was so much extra room our son could sleep in a row to himself, but on the way back every seat was filled. Most seemed to be maids returning after Eid al Fitri.

Date of travel: June 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Shady J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hello Shady, thank you for your review.
You might be the first person who thinks it's too hot on board. Normally it's too cold.
Thank you for your insights. We value those. *Isi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Take the seats on the end at the center. They are 3 seater towards the tail. Hence, more spacious and near washrooms.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Mandy_Mondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hello Mandy, thank you for the tip. :) *Isi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Etihad Airways have what can only be described as THE WORST THERE IS. This airline is only concerned with draining every bit of cash out of you, I would say that they are the UAE equivalent of RyanAIr, don;t be surprised if you are asked for money for toiler paper when you get on board!!

So in response to a complaint about their lack of any compassion following the passing of my father-in-law and the need to amend travel plans and also a declared medical condition, which they requested and had proof of, requiring additional legroom, after nearly a month of chasing and chasing - this was the response they sent;

"Dear Mr Wraight,
Thank you for writing to us.
I am sorry to learn that you were not able to change your family’s reservation as fare difference could not be waived. I hope you will understand tickets have significant restrictions. During the purchase process, we or if you booked your reservation via travel agent explained these restrictions, and you would have agreed to them before making the payment for your reservation. I understand our Contact Centre Agent offered to waive date change and Global Service fee however, you were not willing to pay the fare difference.
I would like to explain to you that ticket restrictions has been designed to allow our guests to make choices most suited to their needs. We offer a range of flexible tickets that have fewer or no restrictions that you can make changes without any penalties. Please visit the Fare Choices section of our website for detailed information on fares and restrictions.
With regard to extra legroom seat concern, I would like to inform you that these seats are subject to availability and you have to meet certain criteria before buying your seat. For more information please visit Book Extra Legroom Seat page.
Thank you again for writing and giving me the opportunity to address your concerns."

Date of travel: August 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank michaelwraight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hello Michael, thank you for your review.
I am sorry you do not approve our policy.
Nevertheless we value your insights. Thank you. *Isi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Having heard a lot of good things about Etihad I was really looking forward to my flight but unfortunately the experience was rather disappointing.

Check-in took a very long time - over an hour to get through a queue of around 20 people but the most disappointing aspect was the lack of leg room!! I'm 6'2'' but I had about as much space on an EasyJet flight as I did on this plane... which isn't acceptable when the flight time and price are considerably more.

The in-flight entertainment was good with a good selection of films to watch but as soon as the person infront reclines their seat, both your ability to watch the screen and have any form of personal space are instantly removed.

I want to try and be positive about something so the food was good - however, due to the ridiculous lack of space it was hilariously difficult trying to eat a meal.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hello Steven, thank you for your review. We appreciate you took your time writing about your experience with us. We value your insights and need those to improve our service. Thank you. *Isi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC