We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT USE BRITISH AIRWAYS”
Review of British Airways


Reviewed 23 June 2023

We booked a British Airways flight in February, 2023 through Expedia. The flight was scheduled for June 3rd at 10:40am. Cost was $287.20 for two people. Additionally we paid $34.00 for seat selection. On the evening of June 2nd we received an email the flight was cancelled. Now, we were in Amsterdam. Our computer was at the hotel, we were out touring all day. We returned to find this out and they booked us for a flight on June 4th at 11:35PM. Since we had a one week tour scheduled starting the morning of June 4th at 8:00am, we had to leave June 3rd. We tried calling, spent an hour on hold, to be told we couldn't cancel or change the flight through British Airways. They said they had no other flights for June 3rd. We called Expedia, we waited another hour to hour and a half, to get hold of an agent who said they would call on our behalf. Another hour went by before they called back. The only flight they could get us on was British Airways at 7:40pm, June 3rd FOR ANOTHER $916.60. Also, we lost our prepaid seats. It was that or nothing. This was for basic economy seats and a one hour and 15 minute flight. We were appalled. We had no choice or we would miss our one week pre-paid tour of England. We booked it. We never received our original funds back. At 10:30pm we were exhausted. First, what gave them the right to rebook our time then charge us for cancelling? Why didn't they give us a choice of flights? Why did they charge us this exorbitant amount? Second, this left us no time to find lodging, our hotel was booked. Our total cost for basic economy seats and a one hour and fifteen minute flight, came to $1240.80. Later we found out they cancelled another persons flight on our tour the day before they were to fly to London from the USA and subsequently lost their luggage. A week later, at the end of our tour, their luggage arrived in time to go home.

Date of travel: June 2023
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Pjreviews4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (59,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,639 - 1,643 of 59,674 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2023

This was in an Airbus 380. BA appears to be the only airline to charge for seat assignments in business class. So even though we booked 6 weeks before the flight, we ended up on a full flight in one of the worse seats in business class.

The seats on this A380 are very old and tired. Although they are roomy and comfy, and do have a nice cubby for shoes, the design does not give access to the aisle from some seats without possibly stepping over a neighbor's legs. If two people wish to be side-by-side, then you fly backwards. There is a USB port that DOESN'T CHARGE. The entertainment system crashes repeatedly.

Check-in was slow because of the huge volume of passengers, even in business class.

Terminal 5 is a disaster -- avoid it. There are two lounges at opposite ends of the terminal, but since they don't announce the gate until shortly before the flight, you have no idea which one is closest. Each lounge is HUGE and crowded. Some of the gates take 15 minutes to get to. Some stands actually use buses !!!

When we got on the airplane it was BROILING hot because the ground support vehicle was broken -- we sweltered for over half an hour because we were delayed in departure.

The food was pretty good and the service as one should expect.

Once, again, the "Priority" page on our checked bags had no effect whatsoever -- half of the economy class bags came out before our's did.

WE will avoid BA after this experience. Aer Lingus is MUCH better.

Date of travel: June 2023
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Isambard40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2023

Read the title. Lost my wife’s bag on our honeymoon. She had to teach their customer service how to use the search functionality of their own systems. Imagine. Then they cancelled our flight within 24 hours of takeoff and the “customer service” agent tried to add 3 more connecting flights.

The only reason we ever saw her bag back is because of an AirTag and my wife continuously calling customer service to GIVE THEM the location of the bag. It was in JFK for days and they said it was in FLR. Can you actually imagine the incompetence? This was business class flights as well. Good luck if you ever buy a ticket.

Date of travel: June 2023
Thank stevedM2199SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2023

Absolute disgrace. This plane must have been manufactured in the 50s not only was the furnishings falling apart the seating was just pathetic. I have never been on a plane so cramped. I am 6ft 2" but slim and I had to force my self into this gap, my knees were wedges against the seat in front. This plane should not even be flying it was so old. How this compnay get away with this is a joke. I fly to puerto rico 7/8 times a year. Never again will I ever use British Airways.

Date of travel: June 2023
Thank Karl-endic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2023

Worst flight in my life. The seats in economy class are very uncomfortable and the service on board leaves much to be desired. My suitcase was lost, the airline did not even care, they did not care. I had no clothes available during my entire vacation. Never again.

Date of travel: June 2023
Thank Mastika82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.