We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, unreliable airline”
Review of British Airways


Reviewed 23 June 2021

They don't even worth one star! They kept cancelling my flights. Very unreliable. Don't bother with this airline.

Date of travel: June 2021
2  Thank 29ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (55,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 585 of 55,422 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2021

If you are trying to book a flight and you see British Airways, just do yourself a favor and don't even bother booking with them. I booked my flight in 2019 and I got a voucher due to covid. I rebooked my flight with no problem, then that's when it started to go down. Within 1 month of me leaving they decided to change my flight without my approval and also decided to charge me $345 extra to accept this change. I paid that thinking it would not change or be cancelled again. Then, I got an email 1 week before my trip that my departure date has been cancelled. I immediately call them and they are no help whatsoever besides asking for money for the new flight that you did not even want. After speaking to an agent and getting no help, I got very frustrated and yelled at him, the agent continues to yell back at me and tell me to "drink some water" in an aggressive way. All of this because they cancel my flight and want to charge to extra to book another flight. This is so stupid to me. How is an airline going to cancel an international trip 1 week before we leave?! There was nothing the agent could do about this problem, so we decided to book 4 days before the original date and they still charged me $500! I will NEVER EVER fly with them again. They have the cheapest tickets, but in the end their cancelations and fees will add up to be the same as the expensive airline. I wish I knew this before purchasing with them. Now we just have to hope for the best that there are no more cancellations and everything goes smoothly that day we leave. In other words, save your money and never fly with British Airways.

Date of travel: June 2021
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank artiolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2021

I bought the ticket relatively cheap (about $200 less than the cheapest at the time). However, you get what you pay for. Within 2 weeks of my purchase, they cancelled and rebooked me twice, with the last booking pushing my arrival by 3 days.
I went online to check for flights, and, they still have flights on my original dates. Looks like they lure you into buying cheap tickets and once they can sell them for higher price, they will cancel and rebook you. I ended up completely canceling my flight and paying much higher with a more stable airline (so I ended up loosing money after all because of the late booking for 5 of us--my overseas flight is in less than 3 weeks).

Date of travel: June 2021
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank 119nayefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2021

Never book with British Airways/American Airlines. I was denied boarding on a flight to Chicago because I didn’t have a document that I needed to travel but had no idea that I needed. No one bothered to tell me and although I checked on several websites before flying, not one of them made mention of this document. The staff at the airport did not let the airline know what had actually happened and so I was put down as a “no show”. As a result, I did not get my flight, nor could I get a refund and on top of that, my return flight was cancelled automatically and I couldn’t get a refund for that either, even after escalating the matter to the CEO. I’m a nutshell, I have lost close to £2000 (two thousand pounds), which I cannot afford to lose, without actually having gone anywhere!

Date of travel: June 2021
2  Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2021

Travel with my dog. They told me to book my ticket and contact AIG the company that does the bookings for British Airways flights. Emails calls and still not been able to book my dogs flight. Had to go with another company and British aways won't refund me my money only give me a voucher to fly with the another tome. They lies to me. I'd I could give them less than one star I would.

Date of travel: June 2021
4  Thank Destination183944
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.