We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent flying experience”
Review of Avianca


Reviewed 5 January 2020

Seats were spacious enough and very comfortable. In-flight entertainment was great and the flight attendants were friendly. Food was even pretty good. I made a mistake in booking the flight and even booked with a third party. The error could have meant that 1 of the 4 of us could not fly. The counter attendants worked hard for an hour to rectify my mistake. They went above and beyond and saved our vacation.

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank T1708HQbrendas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (21,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,585 - 1,589 of 21,077 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2020

Airplanes are kind of old even thought the plane is a dreamliner the inside of the airplane looks old, the good thing is that the space between seats is really good, the flight attendance crew is very friendly, the food is really good and they gave several foods and snacks. Definitely will fly again with them.

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank rogeliosj19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2020

We have travelled extensively and this is probably the worst airline we have ever used. (and that even takes into account Ryanair!)

Firstly the legroom seats we reserved and paid extra for several months in advance, had been 'unconfirmed' at some point before our journey and we didn't find out (and only by accident) until the last minute and they absolutely refused to do anything about it. We need to try and get our money back now- hopefully that won't be a problem!

Other than that, regarding the pre travel admin, their website is very difficult to use and the phone service is useless as keeps cutting you off! As for the actual travel, they cancelled one domestic flight without advance warning or apparent reason and delayed others without any explanation at all and the cabin crew (unlike most other airlines experienced) were virtually all unfriendly and although i know airline food is not known for it's flavour (although maybe i am weird but I don't actually normally mind it!) but the food is totally abysmal! Unfortuntely though they seem to have the monopoly in Colombia and possibly other parts of south America so don't have a lot of choice.

Date of travel: January 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

I had 4 great trips with Avianca in December. The ground and the air staff were really friendly, except for the ground personnel on the last lag of my trip. I have covers for my suitcases, this was not a problem for the three previous flights but it was for the attendant on the last flight. Ultimately, I refused to take of the cover and she could not present any written regulation where it stated that covers were prohibited. Other than that I really like flying Avianca.

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
1  Thank 744sabyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2020

Prices were ridiculously high compared to previous years. Rows of empty seats on my flight of 29 Dec. Crappy meals, A passenger next to me was cold and asked for a blanket, flight attendant, sorry, we don’t carry them anymore. Very disappointing.

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank bonjour98
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.