We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, early morning flight”
Review of Alitalia


Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a good, basic flight that was quite cheap - probably because take off was at 6:20 AM. It was a one-way flight. The cost for two persons, including checking in one bag, was just $181. We were allowed to check-in our two carry-on bags as well - for no additional cost. Check-in went smoothly and the flight attendants were pleasant. The seats were standard, economy seats - comfortable but a bit cramped.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Doc_Cody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 14,504 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First, Alitalia cancelled its direct evening flight from Naples to Palermo after we had bought our non-refundable tickets, forcing us to take the circuitious route through Rome with them. Then, our check in agent in Naples was very rude. Third, when airborne to Rome, we had to turn back to Naples due to weather issues in Rome, while on-board staff announcements as to what was happening were almost non-existent.

When we finally arrived in Rome 3 hours late at 23:30, we had to line up with the hordes to get boarding passes for a replacement flight to Palermo. Alitalia had zero staff assigned to assist with orderly queues, answer questions as to whether we should pick up our bags and go to a hotel, etc. The crowd became very unruly and a riot almost broke out. They did not put extra staff on their overnight transfer desk and they let staff go home when their shift ended at midnight. They were left with three staff to handle hundreds of people like us and two of them were constantly getting assistance from their supervisor. At 03:30, we finally had boarding passes for a morning flight to Palermo and tried to sleep on the Rome airport floor for the next 3 hours.

I have never witnessed such incompetence!

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Flyer55044259696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

4 hours delay without any explanation, not to talk about a drink or sandwich to calm down very irritated passengers.

Date of travel: October 2018
Thank ullafalknereichwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really bad from every perspective. First of all booking. As many airlines you can book online, but once you have booked you are pretty much back to 1990. there was a typo on my booking, i had to CALL customer service and pay 25 Euro to correct it. I wanted to add a second checked bag, I had to call customer service again (15 minutes wait on an international call) and pay 60 euro (regardless the size or weight of the bag) for the extra baggage. The flight, in economy, from Rome to London, including the 'admin fee' (or as I called it the balaclava fee since you have the feeling you are being robbed) the first and the second checked bag came at around 350 Euro, which for a 2 hours trip in a space so crammed that you feel you are sitting in the back of a small car, feels like you have been treated like a fool. Guys avoid Alitalia at all costs, there is really no good reason to use them

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Diner1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Regular, average flight. Time was panctual, team was fine. Nothing negative. Airplane was A321 and it is small but usual for this range. Overall OK.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank meirgeva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC