We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t purchase “The Works” upgrade. It is a scam.”
Review of Air New Zealand


Reviewed 26 March 2024

If you fly with Air New Zealand airline, don’t upgrade to “The Works”, it is not worth it and a scam since everyone on board gets free entertainment and a meal on any International flight.

Now their customer and support service took more than 3 weeks to reply to my issue with a copy paste answer and did not provide any help nor the requested refund ($100) for the additional that was anyway already part of the flight ticket but offered us anyway as an upgrade making you think otherwise you won’t get it.

It is a terrible company to use and if you can avoid it, better for you. Charter airlines are more transparent about their services and cheaper.

Date of travel: February 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank plaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (14,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 14,145 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2024

After being a loyal customer for over 30 years. Air NZ totally screwed us. They cancelled their direct YVR to AKL service without explanation and re booked us on terrible alternatives, even though we paid more for a direct flight. My husband and I are now on separate flights and the worst is their terrible customer service and its our honeymoon! They lie and cheat their customers and they don't care. They are total hypocrites, dont believe their marketing. Air NZ, I will never fly with you again, you have lost a lifelong customer for being cheap liars who couldn't care less about their customers!

Date of travel: March 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Excursion03851832130
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2024

First flight on Feb. 6/24, Vancouver to Auckland, was canceled on short notice.
Return flight on Mar. 19/24, Sydney to Auckland to Vancouver, was canceled on short notice. Twice? Seriously?
Enough said.

Date of travel: March 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2024

We booked a business class from Perth to Auckland. Unfortunately, few months before our departure, Air New Zealand has changed their fleet to Vamos. Because we wanted a non-stop flight, therefore we had to comply. The comfort and services are far from being a business class standards. The seat is cramped and a bit smelly, the headphones are not working, the food is not great, the crew service is quasi non-existent, no WiFi, and the entertainment is not to rave about. It's very disappointing considering the Air New Zealand's reputation that we were used to in the past. It is not the first time that they have used a low cost carrier from Perth to Auckland during peak periods. We thought that we could avoid that by traveling outside the peak periods, but it looks like they keep using the maintenance excuse to continue using low cost carrier by charging top prices with a budget airline. This is disgraceful and bad business. We will stop using Air New Zealand for our trips to Auckland in the future even if we have to do a stop over with another airline. It is a shame to see a good airline going down the drain by deceiving its customers. If you don't mind to be cramped whether in business class or economy, then go for it. To us, it has been an unpleasant experience and we are already apprehensive about our way home with the same airline, Vamos.

Date of travel: March 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Kat6157
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2024

My wife and I flew from Wellington to Tauranga with Air New Zealand. The flight was totally full but the single flight attendant did an excellent job of providing water, tea and coffee and a small snack. That was a good advertisement for Air New Zealand.

Date of travel: March 2024
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Maioha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.