We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Liketachat wrote a review Mar 2020
Hervey Bay, Australia48 contributions54 helpful votes
We flew to Seattle and had 3 wonderful days exploring then joined Ruby Princess for a 7 nights cruise Seattle to Vancouver via Alaska inside passage. We stayed on in the same cabin and enjoyed 31 nights back to Sydney.
This was our 23rd Princess Cruise and we just love them. The staff are who make your journey and if you take the time to get to know them they are very interesting to talk to as they have travelled the world. Whilst the food becomes a little repetitive there is always something somewhere on the ship for you to enjoy. It may be the dining room, buffet, pizza, burgers and fries. It was our first time on Ruby Princess and she is large and well fitted. All the Princess ships are similar in decor. The entertainment was great until Hawaii and then it went down hill. We can't wait for our next cruise. If you are new to cruising take a short one to see if it for you. If you love to cruise then I totally recommend Princess. But, be prepared to join a queue now and then, be patient and courteous and remember you are not the only one on holiday and you will have a great time.
Read more
Sail Date: September 2019
Cabin Type: Balcony
Type of Trip: Couple
Destination: Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Scroll below for other great reviews

Ruby Princess

114 reviews
 All photos (2,704)2,704
Full view
Traveller (647)
Common Areas (1,767)
Dining and Bars (574)
Itineraries for this ship
Itinerary
10 Night Cruise to Alaska
Departure date
Sunday, 28/08/22
Route
San Francisco, Sitka, Juneau, Glacier Bay, Ketchikan, Prince Rupert, San Francisco
View Map

Overview

About
Passengers: 3,080   |   Crew: 1,200
Passengers to crew: 2.57:1
Passengers to space: 37:1
Launched: 2008   

Decks

  • Deck 4
  • Deck 5
  • Deck 6
  • Deck 7
  • Deck 8
  • Deck 9
Additional decks
Deck 4 layout
 
Amenities
Medical Center

Cabins

Balcony
Cabin size: 233 - 285 sq. ft.
Connected rooms: 95
Accessible rooms: 16
Maximum passengers: 4
Number of cabins: 682

Activities & entertainment

Activities (27)
  • Aerobics
  • Arts and Crafts Classes*
  • Beauty Salon*
  • Center Court
  • Dancing Classes
  • Deck Parties
  • Disco and Dancing
  • Fitness Center
  • Fitness Classes*
  • Game Shows
  • Hot Tubs (7)
  • Internet Café*
  • Jogging Track
  • Karaoke
  • Lotus Spa*
  • Lotus Spa Thermal Suite*
  • Massage*
  • Platinum Studio*
  • Pools (4)
  • Princess Links
  • Solo travelers Get Togethers
  • Trivia
  • Ultimate Ship Tour*
  • Wine Tasting*
  • The Sanctuary*
  • Teen Lounge
  • Youth Center
Entertainment (13)
  • Live Music
  • Club Fusion
  • Comedy Shows
  • Explorer's Lounge
  • Gatsby's Casino*
  • Movies Under the Stars
  • Movies Under the Stars seating
  • Nightly DJ
  • Outdoor Movies
  • Princess Theater
  • Princess Theater
  • Skywalkers Nightclub
  • The Piazza
Dining (20)
  • Botticelli Dining room - American
  • Da Vinci Dining Room - American
  • Michelangelo Dining Room - American
  • Café Caribe - Casual
  • Horizon Court - Casual
  • Horizon Terrace - Casual
  • Speakeasy Cigar Lounge - Cigar Bar*
  • Adagio - Clubby Bar*
  • The Mix - Cocktail Bar*
  • Coffee & Cones - Coffee & Ice Cream*
  • International Café - Coffee & Pastries*
  • The Salty Dog Grill - Fast Food
  • SHARE by Curtis Stone - Gourmet*
  • Escapes Travel Café - Light Bites*
  • Crooners Lounge & Bar - Martini Bar*
  • Slice Pizzeria - Pizza
  • Calypso Bar - Pool Bar*
  • Outrigger - Pool Bar*
  • Crown Grill - Steakhouse*
  • Vines Bar - Wine Bar*
* May require additional fees
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 29
  • 18
  • 8
  • 13
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
george shala wrote a review 9 Aug
Orange County, California219 contributions84 helpful votes
+1
The Ruby Princess, Captained by Richard Lewis, is a phenomenal cruise ship with an amazing crew. The 10 day Alaskan inside passage cruise rountrip from San Francisco was an experience of a lifetime. The balcony suite was nicely appointed and our room steward, Andrei Bonder from Romania was God sent, an amazing man. The staff was also amazing not only in customer service but in sharing the love and making the experience such an enjoyable and memorable one. Honorable mention to Reehana, events mamanger, Michael, cruise director, Keiryen, Matre' D in the Michaelangelo Dining area, Mahdo and Agnello our dining room waiters, Christopher the International Cafe Manager, Jean, Jeniya, Surya and Visgno all in the International Cafe, Flore our amazing batista and Candy our favorite photographer. So many wonderful loving Princess personal. The ports of Ketchikan, Haines, Juneau in Alaska were also breathtaking and memorable. Our last stop in Prince Rupert, Canada was also amazing and wow the crabs were tasty. The cruise ship offered quality first class entertainment with phenomenal vocals and Nathan Phan, musician who is the best we have seen and is multi-talented. His singing and high level energy act is unbeatable. The games, art shows, musical acts such as the violin and piano duet, jazz, rock and various artists was quite nice. The Kareoke was also so much fun and I was even offered a job after singing My Way! The buffet food was plentiful and was quite good although there is room for improvement in seasoning and variety options. The dining room food options were also good and the waiters seemed to know which entrees were highly desired and or favored. The deserts were amazing. All of the bartenders on board were very good but Flore in the International Cafe was the most talented and not only mixed drinks but put on a show. Housekeeping was stellar as were Covid safety measures and the ship is a vessel of beauty. In speaking with Jeniya in the International Cafe she stated this was her dream job and has a You Tube documentary. I can't say enough about the amazing people who work on the ship to make you feel at home and help make memories, the people you meet along the way and share love and the overall experience in the adventure of a lifetime. We highly recommend Princess Cruises and the love they share with you to make vacations more than what may be expected.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
scott c wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We have called Princess Cruise Lines many times (each time the wait is over an hour), to get this resolved to no avail. The last email we received says they will look at overcharges "manually and accurately in sailing date order". We have also been told on the phone it would be over 60 days. Meanwhile we have to find the money to pay the credit card company.This has already been going on for over a month. (They have admitted their error.)
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kelvin J wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Our cabin was very tight, no sofa - it's smaller than others. Everything was great - service, crew,...no issues. It's the food, in any venue on the ship - at least one thing will be wrong - count on it. I won't eat trash, my thing is "take this away, and I don't want anything to replace it".
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Les S wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Arrived at the port San Francisco...took about 40 mins to board ship. Cabin ok as there was 3 of us. Should have sailed at 4pm but delays as passengers still hadn't boarded finally left at 6pm..Cold and rough passage for 4 days..as we got nearer Hawaii it warmed up! On board ship was expensive to say the least! Charge for this charge for that never ending! The ship itself has seen better days..needs a good overhaul. Laundry facility was poor as most machines were out of order. Open air Cinema wasn't really an option! Either too windy or cold! Why couldn't they show films in the theatre? As for entertainment is was very poor..more like a holiday camp than real entertainment! Food was ok to be fair in both restaurants and self service. Awful service at the conceairge desk..always a queue when they were open which was only a couple of hours days! Excursions really expensive! £120 for half day trip!!! I must say there better and more value for money out there! Forget Princess Cruises!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sammie wrote a review Apr 2022
33 contributions49 helpful votes
Thank you princess for an amazing time. Crown grill superb especially the 8oz sirloin. Horizon court nice buffet and da Vinci on formal night was great. We start at San Francisco and went to La, Santa Barbara, San Diego and Ensenada. Big shout out to Kristof the cruise director for entertainment, he will do anything to help and he joins in the quizzes and he’s so funny and entertaining, he really made the evenings. Also Margaret who also helps him, pirate queen, and eggy. Crooners is great for a singalong and wheelhouse bar is good too. My husband and I are in late 40’s and was worried cruising would be for just pensioner age. How wrong was I lol. They are really catering for all ages now . Plus formals hubby was worried it’s all ‘ La de da’ but no, it’s lovely and everyone is all so welcoming. I am 100% going again with princess.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Upcoming itineraries

Itinerary
10 Night Cruise to Alaska
Departure date
Sunday, 28/08/22
The map for this itinerary is not available at this time.
Itinerary
Prices are cruise only, per person, double occupancy, and are provided by our partners. Taxes, fees and port expenses are not included. Fuel supplements may apply. Availability of prices is subject to the supplier’s pricing availability.