We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneventful and on time”
Review of Loganair


Reviewed 22 October 2018

There was 'nothing to report' on my two recent Loganair flights to and from Orkney. The flights were reasonably comfortable, on time and without incident. Complimentary tea and biscuits were served even on these short flights. A professional service, despite the inevitably high cost of flying to the Scottish islands from the mainland.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2018

Loganair operates a fleet of small comfortable airplanes around Scotland and out to various feeder cities. It is dependable in highly variable weather. The service is excellent, the seats comfortable and the overall experience leaves you wanting more. We will be back again next year.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank slarson127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Not the most reliable service due to outdated aircraft and loads of technical issues. Can be very pricey for the short haul distances they travel. Booking well in advance is recommend if wanting a decent price. Not much room on board for hand luggage.

Date of travel: October 2018
Thank ericaE4649CG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesH9541, Customer Relations at Loganair, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

We really hope that this occasion will not deter you from using Loganair in the future and be assured we are committed to delivering a reliable service which is reflected in our on-time performance rate for September 2018 with 81.8% of flights departing within 15min of there scheduled departure time.

With the cost of two pilots on our aircraft, two engines to overhaul and having to contend with fuel prices in the Islands being up to 3 times more than on the mainland combined with a higher risk of weather disruption it’s not hard to see how the costs add up.

All Loganair fares also include checked baggage fees, free seat allocation and complimentary on board service where you potentially pay a lot more for this with another carrier. We believe that we offer the best value possible given the major constraints we face

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Took three attempts to fly due to adverse weather but when we did fly what a day.
Lovely weather for flying over Mull etc to Barra, spectacular scenery, and after a great flight we landed on the beach on Barra. Three hours before the return flight and a short stroll over the dunes opposite the airport took us to a deserted beach at least a mile long with amazing white sand. Bite to eat in the airport cafe and an equally enjoyable flight back. Beach landing, great flight, fantastic scenery what else do you want.

Its a small plane so very much economy class , no on board service but as you spend all your time looking out the window it doesn't really matter.

Date of travel: July 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank PaulAdams1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

What a hoot. Have travelled with Logan air before and would that all airlines were as friendly and accommodating! Realise that the nature of island-hopping flights means they have to be flexible, but they are both this and Very friendly.

Date of travel: October 2018
Thank Fargo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC